Skip to content

L’Estro d’Orfeo & Leonor de Lera – L’arte Di Diminuire (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/176,4kHz]

L’Estro d’Orfeo & Leonor de Lera – L’arte Di Diminuire (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/176,4 kHz | Time – 01:09:04 minutes | 2,41 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Challenge Classics

Diminutions, the art of extemporary embellishment or melodic variation, were an essential part of performance practice of the Renaissance and early Baroque periods. The basis of diminutions is the fragmentation of a long note or series of long notes into many shorter and faster ones that move around the original melody. In the 16th and early 17th centuries, a composition as written by the composer was often regarded as raw material and it was normal and even required of musicians to embellish the works performed. The number of treatises that were devoted to the teaching of this subject is a clear indication of the importance of diminutions at that time.

Most of these manuals included a collection of decorated melodies taken from renowned madrigals, motets and chansons by well-known composers of the time. These pieces give clear examples of how music was performed during that time and what was considered the proper way to embellish a piece of music. Often technically demanding, these pieces gave scope for virtuoso display as they required great dexterity from the performer. In conclusion, diminutions were added to make a piece of music more ‘beautiful’.

This programme explores the widespread practice of diminutions by presenting published examples of diminutions on well-known motets, by master composers; diminutions on popular melodies or dance forms and finally, diminutions composed by the performer as artist.

01. Descendi in hortum meum di Palestrina passeggiato (4:02)
02. Vestiva i colli. Modo difficile per suonar alla bastarda (4:36)
03. Romanesca per violino solo e basso se piace (4:52)
04. Pulchra es amica mea di Palestrina (5:09)
05. Diminuzioni sopra “Usurpator tiranno“ di Giovanni Felice Sances (6:43)
06. Aria decima quarta a doi violini sopra “La mia pedrina” (4:11)
07. Petit Jacquet da sonar con la Viola Bastarda (4:32)
08. Folia (7:16)
09. Aria quinta sopra “La Bergamasca” (4:24)
10. Io canterei d‘amor di Cipriano per suonar alla bastarda (3:52)
11. O felici occhi miei di Arcadelt (5:05)
12. Vestiva i colli passeggiato a doi. Basso e soprano (3:44)
13. Sonata quinta sopra un’Aria francese (2:37)
14. Petite fleur coincte (3:19)
15. Tarantella del Gargano diminuita (4:50)

L’Estro d’Orfeo:
Leonor de Lera, baroque violin
Josué Meléndez, cornett, recorder
Rodney Prada, viola da gamba
Josep Maria Marti, theorbe, baroque guitar
Javier Núnez, harpsichord, organ


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: