Skip to content

Leonard Bernstein – R. Strauss: Selections From "Salome", 5 Songs; Boito: Mefistofele Prologo (1978/2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Leonard Bernstein – R. Strauss: Selections From “Salome”, 5 Songs; Boito: Mefistofele Prologo (1978/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:06:33 minutes | 1,19 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

This album offers Leonard Bernstein in some quite rare (at least for him, on disc) operatic repertoire. Given his flair for the dramatic, it’s not surprising that Bernstein would take so winningly to Strauss’s Salome. The Dance of the Seven Veils is full of color, sparkle, and cloying sensuality […] Montserrat Caballé sings with solid, beautifully produced tone and communicates a sense of unbearable longing […] She’s also very good in the lighter, sweeter Strauss songs that follow. There hardly could be a more extreme contrast with Salome than Boito’s Mefistofele, yet Bernstein – never one to shy away from the grandiose – pulls out all the stops in conjuring up the heavenly realm, with its clarion trombones and angelic choirs. Bass Nicolai Ghiaurov gives an arresting portrayal of the title character.” (Classicstoday)

“[The Boito] was recorded in Vienna, with Ghiaurov once again putting on diabolical style to admiration, with glorious Viennese choirs, the world’s most lovable orchestra, and a sumptuous, broadly spread acoustic and wide range of dynamics.” (Gramophone)

“I think that Strauss himself would have relished the warmth and sensuality of [Caballé’s] finely controlled soprano. In this performance, which begins at Es ist kein Laut zu vernehmen, Caballé receives thrilling support from the French National Orchestra under Bernstein, who also contribute an insinuating and full-blooded account of the Dance of the Seven Veils and then accompany the singer in Strauss’s own orchestral arrangements of five of his bestloved songs. These orchestrated versions suit Caballé’s rather grand style better, I feel, than the more intimate, pianoaccompanied originals […]. I warmly recommend this firstrate recording both to Strausslovers and to bel canto enthusiasts.” ( Records and Recording)

1. Salome, Op.54, TrV 215 / Scene 4 : “Es ist kein Laut zu vernehmen” 17:19
2. Salome, Op.54, TrV 215 / Scene 4 : Salome’s Dance Of The Seven Veils 09:43
3. 4 Lieder, Op.27, TrV 170 : 2. Cäcilie 02:01
4. 5 Lieder, Op.41, TrV 195 : 1. Wiegenlied 04:20
5. Sechs Lieder, Op.37, TrV 187 : 2. Ich liebe dich 02:16
6. 4 Lieder, Op.27, TrV 170 : 4. Morgen 03:48
7. 8 Gedichte aus “Letzte Blätter”, Op.10, TrV 141 : 1. Zueignung 01:44
8. Mefistofele – original version / Prologue : Preludio 09:50
9. Mefistofele – original version / Prologue : Ave, Signor degli angeli e dei santi! 04:13
10. Mefistofele – original version / Prologue : T’è noto Faust? 03:14
11. Mefistofele – original version / Prologue : Siam nimbi volanti dai limbi 02:03
12. Mefistofele – original version / Prologue : Salve Regina! 06:02

Montserrat Caballe, soprano
Nicolai Ghiaurov, bass
Orchestre National de France
Chor der Wiener Staatsoper
Gumpoldskirchner Spatzen
Wiener Philharmoniker
Leonard Bernstein, conductor

Digitally remastered


%d bloggers like this: