Skip to content

Leon Russell – Carney (1972/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Leon Russell – Carney (1972/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz  | Time – 37:30  minutes | 1,55 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Capitol Records
Recorded: Skyhill Studios, Hollywood/ Muscle Shoals Sound/ Paradise Studios, Grand Lake of the Cherokees, Tia Juana, Oklahoma

Leon Russell’s third album marked a change in direction. His first two releases were a sort of high-spirited revue, with numerous players and gospel-influenced backup singers. Where his self-titled debut and its follow-up (And The Shelter People) wedded blues, R&B, rock & roll, country and other genres, „Carney“ is a pared-down setting of equally well-endowed songs that make their mark in a much quieter manner. Russell’s first two albums had been veritable celebrations, but „Carney“ sounds more introspective. Some of Russell’s most loved songs made their first appearance here, including the often-covered ‘Tight Rope’ and ‘This Masquerade.’ Russell stayed introspective on his subsequent release „Will O’ The Wisp“, but „Carney“ remains one of his very finest efforts. The gorgeous songs and subtle arrangements make for a wonderfully sustained album experience.

“Tight Rope” leads off Carney, and it’s not just his biggest hit, it offers an excellent introduction to an off-kilter, confused, fascinating album. In a sense, it consolidates his two extremes, offering a side of fairly straightforward roots rock before delving headfirst into twisted psychedelia on the second side. On the whole, the second side deflates the first side, since it’s just too fuzzy — it’s intriguing, at least in parts, but it never adds up to anything. Besides, the first side is already odd enough, but in a meaningful way; here, his fascination with Americana sideshows is married to songs that work, instead of just being vehicles for tripping in the studio. Of course, part of what makes Carney interesting is that it contains a bit of both, but interesting doesn’t equal compelling, as the whole of Carney bears out. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. Tight Rope 02:58
2. Out In The Woods 03:35
3. Me And Baby Jane 03:53
4. Manhattan Island Serenade 03:25
5. Cajun Love Song 03:09
6. Roller Derby 02:22
7. Carney 00:46
8. Acid Annapolis 02:49
9. If The Shoe Fits 02:21
10. My Cricket 02:55
11. This Masquerade 04:22
12. Magic Mirror 04:54

Leon Russell – vocals, guitar, bass, piano
Don Preston – guitar, vocals
Joey Cooper – guitar
Carl Radle – bass
Chuck Blackwell – drums
Jim Keltner – drums
John Gallie – organ


%d bloggers like this: