Skip to content

Layla Ramezan, Djamchid Chemirani & Keyvan Chemirani – Sheherazade (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Layla Ramezan, Djamchid Chemirani & Keyvan Chemirani – Sheherazade (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 59:50 minutes | 913 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Paraty

History of Iranian Piano Music. When we consider urban Iranian music of the 20th century, the piano is unquestionably one of the most culturally influential actors and symbols. The piano first appeared in Iran as a gift from Napoleon III, to the court of King Fath’Ali Shah (Qajar dynasty, 1797–1834). It was then progressively incorporated by the master court musicians of Nassereddin Shah (Qajar, 1848–1896); the process took a mere 50 years. Sheherazade: At certain moments in this collection, the music reaches the threshold of atonality, that is, writing which takes us out of the Iranian space of the music.

Articulated in nine parts around a short tale (an adaption of the ancient story by the composer himself), the recording will alternate piano music with interventions by the Narration of Djamshid Chemirani and the improvisations of Keyvan Chemirani on Tombak (iranian percussive instrument).

1. Dar hashiyeh e kavir
02. On the Outskirts of the Desert
03. Nabard
04. The Battle
05. Shekast
06. The Defeat
07. Zendani
08. Prisoner
09. Khashm
10. The Fury
11. An sooy e abrha
12. Beyond the Clouds
13. Farar
14. The Escape
15. Sarab
16. The Mirage
17. Entezar
18. The Wait


%d bloggers like this: