Skip to content

Laura Marling – Song For Our Daughter (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Laura Marling – Song For Our Daughter (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 36:29 minutes | 412 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Chrysalis Records

London folkie Laura Marling’s voice is a magical contradiction — tender but strong, earthy but maybe not of this earth. On her seventh album, she defends the stake claimed by previous releases Semper Femina and Once I Was an Eagle: Marling belongs in the company of Joni Mitchell, Carole King and James Taylor. Her voice — both the sound and words — is pure power on the irresistible “Strange Girl”: “Woke up in a country who refused to hold your hand/ Kept falling for narcissists who insist you call them man” she croons to a melody that winks at “Walk on the Wild Side.” Inspired by a “running away” fund her mother kept, “Fortune” finds freedom aloft strings so heartbreakingly sweet they’re fit for a Broadway ballad. The warm charms of “For You” — a home demo enriched by simple humming — could be from the 1930s or 2020. Woozy opener “Alexandra” is terrific, as are the spare and lovely “Only the Strong” and sleepy-eyed yet sweeping title track. – Shelly Ridenour


1. Laura Marling – Alexandra
2. Laura Marling – Held Down
3. Laura Marling – Strange Girl
4. Laura Marling – Only The Strong
5. Laura Marling – Blow By Blow
6. Laura Marling – Song For Our Daughter
7. Laura Marling – Fortune
8. Laura Marling – The End Of The Affair
9. Laura Marling – Hope We Meet Again
10. Laura Marling – For You


%d bloggers like this: