Skip to content

Lars Danielsson – Tarantella (2009/2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Lars Danielsson – Tarantella (2009/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 57:35 minutes | 0,98 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ACT Music

When a jazz improviser comes out with an album titled Tarantella, one cannot help but wonder if he is offering a fusion of jazz and southern Italian folk (the tarantella, after all, originated in Taranto, a coastal city in southeastern Italy, and became popular all over Campania, Calabria, and Sicily). But Tarantella, despite what its title implies, doesn’t have a strong Italian influence; there are no jazz arrangements of traditional Italian folk songs on this self-produced post-bop outing. Nonetheless, Tarantella does have its share of European influences, ranging from Euro-classical chamber music to traditional Scandinavian folk — and Swedish bassist/cellist Lars Danielsson incorporates all of those influences without being overly abstract or academic. In fact, the songs (most of which Danielsson wrote or co-wrote) are relatively accessible. That is not to say that contemplative, evocative offerings such as “Ballerina,” “Melody on Wood,” “The Madonna,” and “Across the Sun” are simplistic; these songs have a lot of depth, but at the same time, they aren’t terribly difficult to absorb — and Danielsson achieves this healthy balance of intellect and accessibility with a solid team that also includes trumpeter Mathias Eick, pianist Leszek Mozdzer, guitarist John Parricelli, and drummer/percussionist Eric Harland. Emotionally, Danielsson and his colleagues have a lot to say on this 58-minute CD, which was recorded in 2008 in Gothenburg, Sweden (a city that is known for its abundance of death metal bands but has many other types of music as well). Danielsson has often been described as a melodic player, and he lives up that reputation on the excellent Tarantella. ~ Alex Henderson

01. Pegasus
02. Melody On Wood
03. Traveller’s Wife
04. Traveller’s Defense
05. 1000 Ways
06. Ballett
07. Across the Sun
08. Introitus
09. Fiojo
10. Tarantella
11. Ballerina
12. The Madonna
13. Postludium

Lars Danielsson, double bass, cello, bass violin
Leszek Mozdzer, piano, celesta, harpsichord
Mathias Eick, trumpet
John Parricelli, guitar
Eric Harland, drums, percussion

Recorded by Lars Nilsson at Nilento Studio, Gothenburg, Sweden, April, August and October 2008
Additional recordings by Ake Linton and Simon Danielsson at Tia Dia Studio, Mölnlycke, Sweden
Mixed and mastered by Lars Nilsson at Nilento Studio, Gothenburg, Sweden, October 2008
Produced by Lars Danielsson
Executive Producer: Siegfried Loch


%d bloggers like this: