Skip to content

Lambert, Hendricks & Ross – Sing Ellington (1960/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1 kHz]

Lambert, Hendricks & Ross – Sing Ellington (1960/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 31:38 minutes | 339 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © RevOla

Lambert, Hendricks & Ross were an American vocalese trio formed by jazz vocalists Dave Lambert, Jon Hendricks and Annie Ross. The group formed in 1957. “Lambert, Hendricks & Ross Sing Ellington”, released in late 1960, finds Dave Lambert, Jon Hendricks and Annie Ross exploring and recreating 11 songs associated with Duke Ellington. Accompanied by pianist Gildo Mahones, bassist Ike Isaacs and drummer Jimmy Wormworth, the singers are in prime form on such numbers as “Cottontail”, “What Am I Here For?”, “Caravan” and “In a Mellow Tone”. As with all of their records, their treatment of these songs is unique, fresh and enjoyable.

Although Lambert, Hendricks, & Ross started out their career singing vocalese versions of Basie tunes, they do a pretty darn great job here with Ellington – in fact, maybe even better, given the sophistication of the tracks. And while the album lacks some of the whimsy of the wonderful Flying High record cut around the same time, it still also features work by the Ike Isaacs trio, who keep things in the same soulful groove.


01 – Cottontail
02 – All Too Soon
03 – Happy Anatomy
04 – Rocks In My Bed
05 – Main Stem
06 – I Don’t Know What Kind Of Blues I’ve Got
07 – Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
08 – Midnight Indigo
09 – What Am I Here For?
10 – In A Mellow Tone
11 – Caravan

Dave Lambert – vocals
Jon Hendricks – vocals
Annie Ross – vocals
Gildo Mahones – piano
Ike Isaacs – bass
Jimmy Wormworth – drums


%d bloggers like this: