Skip to content

Ksenija Sidorova – Piazzolla Reflections (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Ksenija Sidorova – Piazzolla Reflections (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:20:44 minutes | 1,39 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front cover | © Alpha

Riga-born Ksenija Sidorova is today one of the most eminent global ambassadors of the classical accordion. She has proudly borne the colours of her instrument in appearances in the world’s leading halls and with the foremost orchestras. Here she pays homage to Piazzolla in her own way: ‘Piazzolla the revolutionary, the ground-breaker, a man thinking ahead of his time … Playing this repertoire gave me a sense of artistic freedom and ignited my belief in advocacy of my instrument. For this album, I wanted to celebrate Piazzolla the innovator by pairing some his masterworks with pieces written by other composers for classical accordion, the majority of which I have premiered in recent years. Being of Russian heritage, I couldn’t help noticing the similarity between the nostalgia of the tango and that of Russian composer Sergey Voitenko’s “Revelation”. French accordionist-composer Franck Angelis’s Fantasia is based on Piazzolla’s Waltz-tango, and the programme is completed by the Nocturne of Italian accordionist-composer Pietro Roffi and a piece by Sergey Akhunov’.


1. Chau Paris (Arranged for Accordion, Piano & Double Bass) (2:52)
2. Revelation (4:59)
3. Histoire du Tango: Café 1930 (6:42)
4. Nocturne: A Kind of Lullaby of Times We Have Not Yet Lived (4:06)
5. Concerto for Bandoneon and Chamber Orchestra “Aconcagua”: I. Allegro marcato (7:30)
6. Concerto for Bandoneon and Chamber Orchestra “Aconcagua”: II. Moderato (7:01)
7. Concerto for Bandoneon and Chamber Orchestra “Aconcagua”: III. Presto (6:50)
8. Suite Lumiere: Soledad (7:47)
9. María de Buenos Aires: Yo soy María (3:03)
10. Fantasie on a theme of Piazzolla – Chiquilín de Bachín (6:19)
11. Romance del Diablo (6:06)
12. Adagio in D Minor, BWV 974 (after Alessandro Marcello’s Concerto for Oboe and Strings) (4:04)
13. Two Keys to One Poem by J. Brodsky: The Moon (3:09)
14. Two Keys to One Poem by J. Brodsky: The River (5:46)
15. Libertango (4:36)


%d bloggers like this: