Skip to content

Kronos Quartet – Placeless (feat. Mahsa Vahdat & Marjan Vahdat) (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Kronos Quartet – Placeless (feat. Mahsa Vahdat & Marjan Vahdat) (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 52:33 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Kirkelig Kulturverksted

‘Placeless’ is the first collaboration between the San Francisco-based Kronos Quartet and Iranian singers Mahsa and Marjan Vahdat, two of the most important performers of Persian vocal music in the world today.
Recorded in Kulturkirken Jakob in Oslo in November 2018, ‘Placeless’ has fourteen melodies that Mahsa Vahdat composed to classical poems by Hafez and Rumi and the works of contemporary Iranian poets Forough Farrokhzad, Mohammad Ibrahim Jafari and Atabak Elyasi. Composers Sahba Aminikia (Iran/US), Aftab Darvishi (Iran/ Netherlands), Jacob Garchik (US) and Atabak Elyasi arranged the songs for string quartet.
For 45 years, San Francisco’s Kronos Quartet – David Harrington (violin), John Sherba (violin), Hank Dutt (viola), and Sunny Yang (cello) – has combined a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually reimagine the string quartet experience. In the process, Kronos has become one of the world’s most celebrated and influential ensembles, performing thousands of concerts, releasing more than 60 recordings, collaborating with an eclectic mix of composers and performers, and commissioning over 1,000 works and arrangements for string quartet. They have won over 40 awards, including the prestigious Polar Music and Avery Fisher Prizes and, most recently, the WOMEX Artist Award (the first US-based musicians to ever do so). About Mahsa Vahdat.

1. Placeless
2. My Ruthless Companion
3. My Tresses In The Wind
4. I Was Dead
5. Endless Embrace
6. Fate Astray
7. The Sun Rises
8. Vanishing Lines
9. The Might Of Love
10. Far Away Glance
11. Leyli’s Nightingales
12. Color Of Moonlight
13. Lover Go Mad
14. Eternal Meadow


%d bloggers like this: