Skip to content

Kremerata Baltica & Gidon Kremer – Mieczyslaw Weinberg (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Kremerata Baltica & Gidon Kremer – Mieczysław Weinberg (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:41:15 minutes | 1,59 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

The music of Mieczyslaw Weinberg is finally beginning to get the hearing it has long deserved. Weinberg’s lifetime spanned the 20th century: born 1919 in Warsaw, he died 1996 in Moscow, in semi-obscurity. Along the way, his allies and supporters had included Dmitri Shostakovich, who considered him one of the great composers of the age.

This double album with the Kremerata Baltica, recorded in Neuhardenberg and Lockenhaus, makes a good case for that claim. Effectively a portrait album, it begins with Weinberg’s extraordinary Violin Sonata No. 3, brilliantly performed by Gidon Kremer, and proceeds from chamber music works (the Sonatina op. 46, the Trio op. 48) to strikingly-contrasting compositions for string orchestra, the graceful Concertino op. 42 inspired by the late-romantic idiom, and the adventurous Symphony no 10, bringing12-tone rows and chordal structure into unexpected juxtapositions.

01. Weinberg: Sonata No. 3, Op.126-Sonata No. 3, Op.126 (Live In Lockenhaus / 2013)
02. Weinberg: Trio, Op.48-Allegro con moto (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
03. Weinberg: Trio, Op.48-Andante (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
04. Weinberg: Trio, Op.48-Moderato assai (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
05. Weinberg: Sonatina, Op.46-Allegretto (Live In Lockenhaus / 2013)
06. Weinberg: Sonatina, Op.46-Lento (Live In Lockenhaus / 2013)
07. Weinberg: Sonatina, Op.46-Allegro moderato (Live In Lockenhaus / 2013)*
01. Weinberg: Concertino For Violin And String Orchestra, Op.42-Allegretto cantabile (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
02. Weinberg: Concertino For Violin And String Orchestra, Op.42-Lento (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
03. Weinberg: Concertino For Violin And String Orchestra, Op.42-Allegro moderato poco rubato (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
04. Weinberg: Symphony No. 10, Op.98-Concerto grosso. Grave (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
05. Weinberg: Symphony No. 10, Op.98-Pastorale. Lento (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
06. Weinberg: Symphony No. 10, Op.98-Canzona. Andantino (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
07. Weinberg: Symphony No. 10, Op.98-Burlesque. Allegro molto (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)
08. Weinberg: Symphony No. 10, Op.98-Inversion. L’istesso tempo (Live In Neuhardenberg / 2012)

Tracks 5 to 7 are in 44.1 kHz

Daniil Grishin, viola
Giedre Dirvanauskaite, violoncello
Daniil Trifonov, piano
Danielis Rubinas, double bass
Kremerata Baltica
Gidon Kremer, violin, conductor

Recorded November 2012 and July 2013 in Neuhardenberg and Lockenhaus (opp. 46, 126)
Engineered by Peter Laenger, Stephan Schellmann
Produced by Manfred Eicher


%d bloggers like this: