Korn – The Nothing (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Korn – The Nothing (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 44:03 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Roadrunner Records

Korn changed the world with the release of their self-titled debut album in 1994. It was a record that would pioneer a genre, while the band’s enduring success points to a larger cultural moment. Since forming, Korn has sold over 40 million albums worldwide, collected two Grammys, toured the world countless times, and set many records in the process that will likely never be surpassed. ‘The Nothing’ is their 13th studio album, produced by Nick Raskulinecz (Deftones, Mastodon, Alice in Chains) and containing the single ‘You’ll Never Find Me’.

With 25 years of experience and 12 albums under their belt since the release of the eponymous Korn in 1994, what can we expect from the famous band from Bakersfield in 2019? Rightly considered as pioneers of neo-Metal, Korn has experienced many ups and downs. Following a decade at the top of the charts, when their iconic guitarist Brian “Head” Welch left the group it became more experimental, dabbling in pop and dubstep (like The Path of Totality) which left many fans feeling a little bewildered. But Head’s return in 2013 undoubtedly gave the band a new lease of life as they returned to their more conventional style of music. And if the two albums that followed were a sign that they had returned to their high standards, The Nothing goes one step further. From the very first note of the bagpipes in The End Begins, it’s clear that Korn is well and truly back in the game. The album is dedicated to tradition as all the group’s characteristics can be heard throughout the album, (the scat in Cold that is reminiscent of Twist, the sound of the guitar in The Darkness is Revealing, the chorus of “disco” drums in Idiosyncrasy and so on). But The Nothing itself is not immune from trying new things and includes the track Finally Free which has hints of trip-hop as well as the particularly manic [email protected], which is a something a bit different altogether. And even if the band hasn’t reinvented itself in this particular album, their knack for riffs and catchy choruses, the manic performances by Jonathan Davis (and the very talented Ray Luzier on drums), combined with a solid production team and just the right amount of experimentation makes The Nothing the go-to album for this ‘third-generation’ Korn. There’s no doubt about it, Korn is still on top form!  – Théo Roumier

1. The End Begins (01:30)
2. Cold (03:45)
3. You’ll Never Find Me (03:40)
4. The Darkness is Revealing (03:40)
5. Idiosyncrasy (04:38)
6. The Seduction of Indulgence (01:42)
7. Finally Free (03:53)
8. Can You Hear Me (02:52)
9. The Ringmaster (03:00)
10. Gravity of Discomfort (03:34)
11. [email protected] (04:47)
12. This Loss (04:41)
13. Surrender to Failure (02:21)