Skip to content

Kiss – Smashes, Thrashes & Hits (1988/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Kiss – Smashes, Thrashes & Hits (1988/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 53:07 minutes | 1,16 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | © Mercury Records

Smashes, Thrashes & Hits is Kiss’ third greatest hits album, including two previously unreleased tracks and titles from Love Gun, Destroyer, Creatures of the Night, Kiss, Lick It Up, Animalize,Rock and Roll Over, Asylum, Dynasty and Dressed to Kill. The album peaked at number 21 on the Billboard 200 chart in 1988. Many of the songs that had been recorded with the original line-up were altered in some way, Eric Carr re-recorded the title “Beth” which had been sung by drummer Peter Criss, making it the first record featuring Carr on lead vocals.

Smashes, Thrashes & Hits is a compilation of Kiss’s greatest hits from their ’80s career. Since there weren’t enough chart-toppers from that period to fill an entire album, however, ’70s classics from their more theatrical days are also included, such as “Love Gun,” “Shout It Out Loud,” and “Rock and Roll All Nite.” (Peter Criss’ power ballad, “Beth,” is also featured on the album, but is a re-recorded version with then-drummer Eric Carr on vocals.) This combination of classic power rock and pop-metal is what makes the record entertaining, and the album’s two new tracks, “Let’s Put the X in Sex” and “(You Make Me) Rock Hard,” continue to display Kiss’ interesting melodies. Although necessary only to the avid Kiss fan, Smashes, Thrashes & Hits is an acceptable compilation and is another good introduction to the band. ~~AllMusic Review by Barry Weber

1. Let’s Put The X In Sex 03:49
2. (You Make Me) Rock Hard 03:28
3. Love Gun 03:30
4. Detroit Rock City 03:48
5. I Love It Loud 03:43
6. Deuce 03:22
7. Lick It Up 03:56
8. Heaven’s On Fire 03:20
9. Calling Dr. Love 03:36
10. Strutter 03:21
11. Beth 02:48
12. Tears Are Falling 03:54
13. I Was Made For Lovin’ You 04:30
14. Rock And Roll All Nite 02:56
15. Shout It Out Loud 03:06

Paul Stanley – vocals, guitar
Ace Frehley – guitar, vocals
Bruce Kulick – guitar, vocals
Vinnie Vincent – guitar
Mark St. John – guitar
Gene Simmons – bass, vocals
Eric Carr – drums, vocals
Peter Criss – drums, backing vocals

Producers: Neil Bogart, Bob Ezrin, Michael James Jackson, Kenny Kerner, Eddie Kramer, Vini Poncia, Gene Simmons, Paul Stanley and Richie Wise
Recording engineers: Ben Kape and Dave Wittman


%d bloggers like this: