Skip to content

Kiss – Music from ‘The Elder’ (1981/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Kiss – Music from ‘The Elder’ (1981/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 42:53 minutes | 1,8 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | © Mercury Records

Their ninth studio album, Music from “The Elder” was an epic concept album by KISS that featured orchestral elements. Considered to be one of their weakest efforts, the album sold poorly and the band did not tour in support of it. The album was also the last to feature Ace Frehley until the band’s 1996 Reunion Tour.

By the end of 1980, Kiss knew that their next album had to be a strong one, a glorious return to hard rock à la their classic Destroyer. New drummer Eric Carr had refueled the band’s desire to rock, and the quartet began working on a straight-ahead rock album in early 1981. Midway through, the band felt that they were rewriting past songs, and the sessions were aborted. Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley then came up with the idea of recording a concept album, based on a mythical original story by Simmons. Destroyer producer Bob Ezrin was back and encouraged the band’s concept album idea (against both Ace Frehley’s and Carr’s wishes). Simmons and Stanley had high hopes for Music from “The Elder” (such as a movie, an elaborate tour, a follow-up record, etc.), but it completely bombed upon release. The reason? The music is totally uncharacteristic of Kiss — it resembles heavy prog rock for the most part. Some of the songs could have been classics if the pompous and/or hard-to-decipher lyrics were replaced, such as “The Oath,” “Only You,” “I,” and “Just a Boy.” Only two tracks resemble the Kiss of old (Frehley’s “Dark Light” and the instrumental “Escape from the Island”), while the rest is downright embarrassing (“Odyssey,” “A World Without Heroes,” “Under the Rose”). Music from “The Elder” was the final straw for Frehley, who would leave the band in 1982. ~~AllMusic Review by Greg Prato

1. Fanfare 01:22
2. Just A Boy 02:26
3. Odyssey 05:40
4. Only You 04:17
5. Under The Rose 04:51
6. Dark Light 04:19
7. A World Without Heroes 02:41
8. The Oath 04:32
9. Mr. Blackwell 04:51
10. Escape From The Island 02:51
11. I 05:03

Paul Stanley – rhythm guitar, vocals, lead guitar on “A World Without Heroes” and “The Oath”
Ace Frehley – lead guitar, vocals, bass guitar on “Dark Light”, rhythm guitar on “The Oath”
Gene Simmons – bass guitar, vocals, rhythm guitar on “Only You” and “I”
Eric Carr – drums, percussion, backing vocals, acoustic guitar on “Under the Rose”

Bob Ezrin – producer, keyboards, bass guitar on “The Oath” and “Escape from the Island”
Allan Schwartzberg – drums on “Odyssey” and “I”, additional overdubs
The American Symphony Orchestra
St. Robert’s Choir


%d bloggers like this: