Skip to content

Kazumi Watanabe – Live at Iridium (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Kazumi Watanabe – Live at Iridium (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:10:52 minutes | 1,61 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © WM Japan

Watanabe was invited in 2011 by the New York club Iridium to play there as part of the ‘Legendary Jazz Fusion Guitarists’ series. Watanabe began a search for younger bassist and drummer based in the US who would bring fresh ideas and energy, and chose Janek Gwizdala, originally from England, and Obed Calvaire who’s played with Wynton Marsalis, Mike Stern and the Clayton Brothers, among others.

Material for this exciting CD was taken from the three-day gig at The Iridium in October, 2011. Although they have never played together before, the superbly talented trio musicians apparently had a great rapport and ‘clicked’ with one another. Whether playing well-known jazz musicians’ compositions or Watanabe’s own tunes, they burn red hot with intensity and thrilling interplay.

01. All Blues
02. Moment’s Notice
03. The Sidewinder
04. Impressions
05. Cry Me a River
06. Ensyu Tsubame Gaeshi (Live)
07. Manhattan Flu Dance
08. Unicorn

Kazumi Watanabe, guitar
Janek Gwizdala, bass
Obed Calvaire, drums

Recorded live at The Iridium, New York City, on October 15 and 16, 2011


%d bloggers like this: