Skip to content

Kandace Springs – Indigo (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Kandace Springs – Indigo (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 48:21 minutes | 520 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Blue Note (BLU)

Kandace Springs is a reincarnation of the great soul divas. Divine beauty, a charming name, since she released her first album, all eyes have been on this young woman. Soul Eyes, released on Blue Note in 2014, saw her float away into a sublime cloud of soul-jazz with pop highlights. Four years later, she is attracting attention with a full different creation, named Indigo. Roberta Flack, Luther Vandross, Billie Holiday and Nina Simone are just a few names of her childhood influences, names that are still casting their spell over her performances. A warm timbre, a supple and delicate diction that goes hand in hand with her mastery of the piano, Indigo is a stunning mix of covers and original pieces written by Evan Rogers and Carl Sturken. The album opens on the pop-romantic overture Don’t Need The Real Thing; funk airs follow on People Make The World Go ‘Round and a jazzy instrumental on Unsophisticated: Springs seems unsure about where to really let her voice take off, but it works! She is testing out her capacities and limits in some contradictory registers. Fix Me even ventures into classical, with a mix of Prélude opus 28 n°4 by Chopin, imitation Gainsbourg and a more soulful Jane B sound. It’s an unexpected mix but it is all brought together marvellously by the smoke timbre of this winning singer.  – Anna Coluthe

1 Don’t Need The Real Thing
2 Breakdown
3 Fix Me
4 Indigo (Pt. 1)
5 Piece Of Me
6 6 8
7 Indigo (Pt. 2)
8 People Make The World Go ‘Round
9 Unsophisticated [feat. Roy Hargrove]
10 Black Orchid
11 Love Sucks
12 The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
13 Simple Things [feat. Scat Springs]


%d bloggers like this: