Skip to content

Kacy & Clayton – The Siren’s Song (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Kacy & Clayton – The Siren’s Song (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 33:39 minutes | 375 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © New West Records

During Autumn 2016, Kacy Anderson and Clayton Linthicum crossed paths with Jeff Tweedy. The leader of Wilco loved these two Canadians, distant cousins from Saskatchewan, so much that he invited them to his famed Chicago studio, The Loft. There, Kacy & Clayton created their fourth album produced by Tweedy. Supported by Mike Silverman on drums and Shuyler Jansen on bass, the album is denser and a lot less streamlined than its predecessors. The Siren’s Song not only combines psychedelic folk with the spirit of 60s and 70s British revival folk, but also draws inspiration from southern music from the Appalachians and country rock (Buffalo Springfield, Gram Parsons, Gene Clark, Sir Douglas Quintet). With her voice strongly reminiscent of Grace Slick from Jefferson Airplane (particularly striking on the album’s opening song The Light of Day), Kacy Anderson brilliantly glorifies each song. Superb!

01 – The Light Of Day
02 – Just Like A Summer Cloud
03 – Cannery Yard
04 – A Lifeboat
05 – White Butte Country
06 – A Certain Kind Of Memory
07 – This World Have Seven Wonders
08 – The Siren’s Song
09 – Go And Leave Me


%d bloggers like this: