Skip to content

June Christy – The Intimate Miss Christy (1963/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1 kHz]

June Christy – The Intimate Miss Christy (1963/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 35:34 minutes | 313 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © RevOla

On June Christy’s excellent run of albums for Capitol Records the vocalist was most often backed by Pete Rugolo’s complex orchestral charts or by small, freewheeling jazz groups led by her husband, Bob Cooper. So “The Intimate Miss Christy” is a special treat for her fans as it finds the cool blonde singer backed only by Al Viola’s guitar and Don Bagley’s bass (though a flutist sits in on a few tracks). This guitar/bass-only approach was first popularized by Julie London and went on to be utilized by many other singers during this era. The backing not only suits the laid-back, cool jazz approach of June Christy perfectly, but it also means that the singer is never forced to strain too hard, as she sometimes did when working with the experimentally inclined Pete Rugolo. And while the vocalist usually put a dark emotional spin on her ballad readings, this album is definitely aimed more toward romantic entanglements than romantic regrets. The Intimate Miss Christy may be a fireside makeout album, but it’s one that merits repeated listens even when the embers die out.


01 – The More I See You
02 – Spring Is Here
03 – Fly Me to the Moon
04 – I Fall in Love Too Easily
05 – Time After Time
06 – Don’t Explain
07 – It Never Entered My Mind
08 – You’re Nearer
09 – Misty
10 – Suddenly It’s Spring
11 – I Get Along Without You Very Well
12 – Ev’ry Time

Recorded between September 16, 1960 – May 1963.


%d bloggers like this: