Skip to content

Julie Doiron – I Thought of You (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Julie Doiron – I Thought of You (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:40:42 minutes | 775 MB | Genre: Indie Rock, Female Vocal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © You’ve Changed Records

Julie Doiron is back with I Thought Of You, her first solo record since 2012″s So Many Days, emanating a radiative force with nothing more than her guitar and her unmistakably indomitable voice. In her time away from the solo spotlight she has remained deeply entwined with music, releasing a critically acclaimed record with members of Cancer Bats and Eamon McGrath as Julie and The Wrong Guys, translating some of her previous work for Spanish label Acuarela, and returning to her otherworldly collaboration with Mount Eerie for Lost Wisdom pt 2. On I Thought Of You, Julie enlists close and trusted friends: the uber-prolific and multi-talented Daniel Romano, superstar drummer Ian Romano, and Quebecois songwriter Dany Placard on bass. We live for these moments, when our dearest friends find their way back to the places they love, and we once again hear their voices rise back into our lives.

Julie Doiron exuded empathy on her duet albums with Mount Eerie, brought lamplight warmth to Eric’s Trip, and comforted like a favorite blanket with her solo music. On her first proper studio outing in nearly a decade, the Canadian singer-songwriter is all about new beginnings and the weird rush of emotions—excitement, anxiety, doubt—they bring. “There was never a plan … and here I am starting over again,” she sings on the irresistible “You Gave Me the Key,” her voice first slightly tremulous but gaining strength. As the guitars pile on and the vocals layer, it feels like hope. Dark and mysterious “Ran” takes both stubborn pride and regret in refusing to look backward: “You told me it was over and I believed you/ so I ran, I ran everywhere/ and I can’t go back to you,” she sings, as noir as a skittish alley cat slinking in the shadows. Conversely, the ambling jaunt “Good Reason”—chiming prettily like the soundtrack to a rom-com—finds Doiron crooning “I’m coming home, I didn’t realize just how far I’d gone… ” At times, there are echoes of her ’90s contemporaries Liz Phair and Cat Power. The latter is especially evoked on “Dreamed I Was,” which is beautiful in the way it finds drama in stark simplicity; it’s like a gut punch when Doiron shifts from the low verses (“This morning, I dreamed I was happy”) into a higher register for the bridge, pleading “My sweet dream, don’t leave me be.” She adopts a mod posture on the wild “Thought of You” and a genial gallop for “Et Mon Amour,” her delivery of the French lyrics husky and un peu louche. Doiron began her solo career using the name Broken Girl, but dropped it because, she once said: “If somebody was introducing me, it would be like, ‘Now, put your hands together for Broken Girrrrl!’ I’d just get on stage and feel devastated!” She sounds far from broken, though, on the primitive acoustic track “Back to the Water”: “I don’t need to know the answers/ I don’t need to be found and given so many chances/…There’s a lesson here for me to learn.” – Shelly Ridenour

1. You Gave Me the Key (02:47)
2. Thought of You (02:45)
3. Dreamed I Was (02:28)
4. Just When I Thought (03:44)
5. Et Mon Amour (03:19)
6. Good Reason (03:31)
7. Cancel the Party (01:51)
8. How Can We? (02:59)
9. Darkness to Light (03:06)
10. Ran (04:04)
11. The Letters We Sent (05:02)
12. They Wanted Me to Say (03:08)
13. Back to the Water (01:58)


%d bloggers like this: