Skip to content

Jose Feliciano – Behind This Guitar (Deluxe) (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Jose Feliciano – Behind This Guitar (Deluxe) (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:39:47 minutes | 817 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Anthem Entertainment LP

The title track on José Feliciano’s 2019 album Behind This Guitar sums up, with uncanny accuracy, the still-unfolding career of this remarkable and singular figure in American musical culture of the last half-century. Puerto Rican by birth, a New Yorker (Spanish Harlem) from his childhood, José Feliciano has been a fact of American musical life since his breakthrough at the height of the Sixties – the golden age of American pop and rock music.

Behind This Guitar brings the singer/guitarist full circle with producer and old friend Rick Jarrard, whom RCA Victor assigned to produce the very young Feliciano in the late 1960s. It was Jarrard who convinced Feliciano to record The Doors’ “Light My Fire” for their album Feliciano! – the record that made him a household name in 1968. Two years later, in the midst of recording a Christmas album, it was Jarrard who told Feliciano they needed a new song and encouraged Feliciano as he virtually improvised the enduring classic “Feliz Navidad”.

Feliciano already had a distinctive international career when “Light My Fire” catapulted him to real pop superstardom. It was a song no one much wanted him to record except Jarrard. It was even the “B” side of the single from Feliciano! (“California Dreamin'” was the “A” side). The rest is history. The recording won Feliciano a 1968 Grammy Award® for his performance, the same year he won the Grammy for Best New Artist of the Year.

01. José Feliciano – I’m America
02. José Feliciano – Behind This Guitar
03. José Feliciano – The Itch
04. José Feliciano – Love One Another
05. José Feliciano – Smokey Places
06. José Feliciano – Just Because
07. José Feliciano – The Chain
08. José Feliciano – Feliz Navidad (50th Anniversary/FN50)
09. José Feliciano – Eagle When She Flies


%d bloggers like this: