Skip to content

Jorge Rossy – Puerta (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Jorge Rossy – Puerta (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 00:54:11 minutes | 1,04 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © ECM

For this astonishing record marking his début as a leader on the ECM label, Jorge Rossy swapped his sticks for mallets, and concentrated exclusively on that other favourite instrument of his: the vibraphone. Flanked by double bassist Robert Landfermann and drummer Jeff Ballard, the Barcelona native who came to prominence as a member of Brad Mehldau’s trio between 1994 and 2005 also showcases his talents as a composer on Puerta (he wrote nine of the album’s ten themes). Here, he is approaching his art with an eye for purity. “With this trio, the aim was to give the instruments plenty of room to breathe and unfold by playing fewer key notes.” And they certainly have space! This minimalist playing allows Rossy’s rhythm to become one with his improvisations, and to underline the beauty of the often-dreamy melodies that make Puerta so timeless. – Marc Zisman

1. Jorge Rossy – Post-Catholic Waltz
2. Jorge Rossy – Taínos
3. Jorge Rossy – Adagio
4. Jorge Rossy – Maybe Tuesday
5. Jorge Rossy – Cargols
6. Jorge Rossy – Scilla e Cariddi
7. Jorge Rossy – Puerta
8. Jorge Rossy – S.T.
9. Jorge Rossy – Ventana
10. Jorge Rossy – Adiós


%d bloggers like this: