Skip to content

Jools Holland & Marc Almond – A Lovely Life to Live (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Jools Holland & Marc Almond – A Lovely Life to Live (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 47:37 minutes | 0,98 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Warner Music Entertainment

Jools Holland, the musical virtuoso, director and well-loved host of the BBC 2 programme Later… with Jools Holland since 1992, joins forces with the first-rate vocals of Marc Almond and the musicians of the Rhythm & Blues Orchestra. This musical extravaganza is full to the brim with pure entertainment, original songs as well as traditional ones (When the Saints Go Marching In) and classics from Edith Piaf (L’Hymne à l’amour), Irving Berlin (How Deep Is The Ocean) and Bobby “Blue” Bland (It’s My Life Baby and I’ll take Care Of You), not forgetting the hit single Tainted Love that Almond sang in 1981 whilst part of the duo Soft Cell. On this album, A Lovely Life to Live, the pair go on an incredible journey exploring the timelessness of rhythm’n’blues and rock’n’soul. As Marc Almond himself says: “If this album were a film, it would be a black and white film from the late 1950’s and early 1960’s, set in London with Dirk Bogarde, with a brief stopover in Paris where he would meet Deneuve and Delon in a smoky bar. Jools and I have a history of working together that goes back several years and now, on the album, we can finally show our shared love for Bogarde, London, vintage cars, afternoon tea and the blues..  – Clotilde Maréchal

1. Gipsy Rover
2. A Lovely Life to Live
3. It’s My Life Baby
4. I Lost My City
5. Workhouse Blues
6. London You Were My Lover
7. Hymne a l’amour
8. Dirk Bogarde and Me (Take Tea)
9. On My Soul
10. Big Black Mercedes 600
11. How Deep Is the Ocean
12. Tainted Love
13. I’ll Take Care of You
14. When the Saints Go Marching In

Jools Holland, piano
Marc Almond, vocals
Holland’s Rhythm & Blues Orchestra


%d bloggers like this: