Skip to content

Joni Mitchell – Shadows And Light (1980/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Joni Mitchell – Shadows And Light (1980/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 1:23:45 minutes | 2,96 GB | Genre: Pop
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 84:27 minutes | 1,64 GB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © Rhino/Elektra

Shadows And Light is Joni Mitchell’s exhilarating 1980 live double-album masterpiece. The singer-songwriter is joined by an all-star cast of musicians including Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, Jaco Pastorius, Don Alias, Michael Brecker and The Persuasions. It features performances of hits including “Goodbye Pork Pie Hat,” “Hejira,” “Woodstock,” “Shadows And Light” and much, much more. The undeniable classic fully displays Mitchell’s unmatched musicality.

Shadows And Light documents the great singer-songwriter’s 1979 tour and finds her playing some of her especially adventurous material. – Rolling Stone

Shadows and Light is Joni Mitchell’s second live album, and it serves as a good retrospective of her jazzy period from 1975-1979. As expected, she assembles a group of all-star musicians including Pat Metheny (guitar), Jaco Pastorius (bass), Lyle Mays (keyboards), and Michael Brecker (saxophone) who give these compositions more energy than on the studio recordings. The musicians are given room to jam, and they sound terrific on uptempo songs such as “Coyote” and “In France They Kiss on Main Street.” If there is a general theme of these songs, it’s about growing older and maturing after the failed idealism of the late ’60s (the album opens with audio clips from the movie Rebel Without a Cause). Although this album is pleasing, the live arrangements are not different enough from the studio versions to warrant higher marks. In fact, Mitchell has always been an album artist who recorded studio albums that had a sound and feel all their own. While Shadows and Light provides a nice summary of her experimental period for casual fans, interested listeners should start with Hejira or The Hissing of Summer Lawns.

01 – Introduction
02 – In France They Kiss On Main Street
03 – Edith And The Kingpin
04 – Coyote
05 – Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
06 – The Dry Cleaner From Des Moines
07 – Amelia
08 – Pat’s Solo
09 – Hejira
10 – Black Crow
11 – Don’s Solo
12 – Dreamland
13 – Free Man In Paris
14 – Band Introduction
15 – Furry Sings The Blues
16 – Why Do Fools Fall In Love?
17 – Shadows And Light
18 – God Must Be A Boogie Man
19 – Woodstock

Pat Metheny – lead guitar
Jaco Pastorius – bass
Don Alias – drums
Lyle Mays – keyboards
Michael Brecker – saxophone
The Persuasions – backing vocals

FLAC 24-192


FLAC 24-96

%d bloggers like this: