Skip to content

Jonas Kaufmann – Selige Stunde (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Jonas Kaufmann – Selige Stunde (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:09:58 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Sony Classical

After the success of his stunning album ‘Otello’, revered tenor Jonas Kaufmann returns with the sensational new album ‘Selige Stunde’. ‘Selige Stunde’ is the first recital in a small series of recordings that Jonas has made during the Covid-19 crisis. This stunning album includes a varied and heart-felt selection of songs that cover the most prominent Lieder composers. All tracks are short and are often performed as encores. The theme of the lyrics centre around love, longing, peacefulness and farewell. Kaufmann is considered one of the greatest tenors of this generation. He has performed at the world’s most prestigious concert venues including the Royal Opera House in London and the Metropolitan Opera House in New York. Kaufmann has won numerous prestigious awards including Gramophone Awards and Echo Klassik Awards.

Although Covid-19 has forced many musicians to cancel their concerts and recordings in 2020, it has also sparked creativity and allowed people to enjoy calmer moments – something that’s rare when you have a busy career. Jonas Kaufmann did not waste his time during lockdown, recording several Lieder albums with his accomplice, the pianist Helmut Deutsch.

“Selige Stunde” (“Blessed Hours!”) is the first fruit of his quarantine which brings together a selection of Lieder from Mozart to Mahler, including Schubert, Mendelssohn, Grieg, Strauss, Brahms, Wolf, Schumann and extremely rare gems such as Ännchen von Tharau by Friedrich Silcher or the unusual In mir klingt ein Lied composed by Alois Melichar on the Etude, Op. 10 No. 3 by Chopin.

Time and intensive use have gradually tarnished Jonas Kaufmann’s voice and his timbre has darkened without compromising any of its expression or exceptional range. With quarantine making it impossible to use a recording studio, the two friends recorded this album in a private home with as few people as possible. It’s a “blessing in disguise” for Jonas Kaufmann and Helmut Deustch, who were able to find the tone of a private concert in the intimacy of a living room for this recording. – François Hudry


1. Jonas Kaufmann – Der Musensohn, D. 764
2. Jonas Kaufmann – Adelaide, Op. 46
3. Jonas Kaufmann – Ich liebe dich, WoO 123
4. Jonas Kaufmann – Ännchen von Tharau
5. Jonas Kaufmann – Auf Flügeln des Gesanges, Op. 34, No. 2
6. Jonas Kaufmann – Ich liebe dich
7. Jonas Kaufmann – Es muss ein Wunderbares sein, S. 314
8. Jonas Kaufmann – Widmung, Op. 25, No. 1
9. Jonas Kaufmann – Der Jüngling an der Quelle, D. 300
10. Jonas Kaufmann – Still wie die Nacht
11. Jonas Kaufmann – Zueignung, Op. 10, No. 1
12. Jonas Kaufmann – Selige Stunde, Op. 10, No. 2
13. Jonas Kaufmann – In mir klingt ein Lied
14. Jonas Kaufmann – Verschwiegene Liebe
15. Jonas Kaufmann – Als die alte Mutter, Op. 55, No. 4
16. Jonas Kaufmann – Allerseelen, Op. 10, No. 8
17. Jonas Kaufmann – Da unten im Tale, WoO 33, No. 6
18. Jonas Kaufmann – Nur wer die Sehnsucht kennt
19. Jonas Kaufmann – Das Veilchen, K. 476
20. Jonas Kaufmann – Sehnsucht nach dem Frühling, K. 596
21. Jonas Kaufmann – Gruß, Op. 19, No. 5
22. Jonas Kaufmann – Die Forelle, D. 550
23. Jonas Kaufmann – Mondnacht, Op. 39, No. 5
24. Jonas Kaufmann – Wiegenlied, Op. 49, No. 4
25. Jonas Kaufmann – Wandrers Nachtlied II, D. 768
26. Jonas Kaufmann – Verborgenheit
27. Jonas Kaufmann – Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen


%d bloggers like this: