John Pizzarelli & The Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra – Dear Mr. Sinatra (2006/2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

(Last Updated On: September 2, 2021)

John Pizzarelli & The Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra – Dear Mr. Sinatra (2006/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 39:14 minutes | 1,84 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Telarc

John Pizzarelli, one of the most celebrated performers bringing popular standards to a new generation, pays homage to Frank Sinatra with the release of Dear Mr. Sinatra. Early in his career, Pizzarelli opened for Sinatra on tour. His father, the jazz guitar legend Bucky Pizzarelli, played on many of Sinatra’s seminal recordings. Focusing on songs that were specifically written for ‘Ol’ Blue Eyes’ and also featuring The Clayton- Hamilton Jazz Orchestra, Dear Mr. Sinatra is in many ways the most personal of all the Sinatra tributes available. Dear Mr. Sinatra, follows Pizzarelli’s highly-acclaimed tributes to Nat King Cole (Dear Mr. Cole and P.S. Mr. Cole), Antonio Carlos Jobim (Bossa Nova) and The Beatles (John Pizzarelli Meets The Beatles).

“Frank Sinatra, though not a jazz singer, was long respected by jazz musicians for his natural ability to get the best out of a song while developing a trademark approach to singing that had great appeal. While many recorded tributes to Sinatra since his death have been abysmal at best, vocalist and guitarist John Pizzarelli knows a little something about swinging and finding the essence of each song. Backed by the Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra, with whom Pizzarelli toured prior to the making of this CD, along with arrangements by John Clayton, Don Sebesky, Dick Lieb, and Quincy Jones, he sought to focus primarily on songs written with Sinatra in mind, though taking new approaches to each of them. Dear Mr. Sinatra opens with an over-the-top rendition of “Ring-A-Ding-Ding.” Clayton’s sensitive writing for reeds provides the perfect backdrop for Pizzarelli’s warm vocals in “If I Had You.” The singer works magic in another fine Clayton chart, “I’ve Got You Under My Skin,” delivering the goods in a sensitive interpretation. Pizzarelli is backed only by pianist Tamir Hendelman in the miniature scoring of “The Last Dance,” which serves as a perfect finale. Only three of the tracks clock in at over four minutes, so there’s not much of a focus upon instrumental solos, though Pizzarelli’s guitar is featured in “Witchcraft.” With a total time just under 40 minutes, the program is a little short by CD standards, but the performances by John Pizzarelli and the Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra in this warm tribute to Old Blue Eyes are consistently of high caliber and hit the mark every time.” (Ken Dryden, AMG)

1. Ring-A-Ding Ding 03:37
2. You Make Me Feel So Young 03:59
3. How About You? 02:43
4. If I Had You 04:48
5. Witchcraft 04:13
6. I’ve Got You Under My Skin 03:26
7. Nice ‘N’ Easy 02:46
8. I See Your Face Before Me / In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning 04:14
9. Can’t We Be Friends? 03:57
10. Yes Sir, That’s My Baby 03:03
11. Last Dance 02:24

John Pizzarelli, vocals, guitar
Tamir Hendelman, piano
Jeff Hamilton, drums
John Clayton, double-bass, conductor
Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra

Digitally remastered


### links are broken, waiting to update ###/tq3n57ffo7fq/J0hnPizzarelliDearMr.Sinatra2006201824192.part1.rar.html
### links are broken, waiting to update ###/8vfmf9nab7d9/J0hnPizzarelliDearMr.Sinatra2006201824192.part2.rar.html

Related Posts

%d bloggers like this: