Skip to content

John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers – A Hard Road (1967) [2011 US Reissue] {Vinyl Rip 24Bit/96khz}

John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers ‎– A Hard Road (1967)
Vinyl rip in 24 bit/96 kHz | FLACS | Artwork | 803 Mb, 3% RAR Recovery
Sundazed Music ‎– LP 5372 (US, 2011 Reissue, Mono, 180 g)

Eric Clapton is usually thought of as John Mayall’s most important right-hand man, but the case could also be made for his successor, Peter Green. The future Fleetwood Mac founder leaves a strong stamp on his only album with the Bluesbreakers, singing a few tracks and writing a couple, including the devastating instrumental “Supernatural.” Green’s use of thick sustain on this track clearly pointed the way to his use of guitar riffs with elongated, slithery tones on Fleetwood Mac’s “Albatross” and “Black Magic Woman,” as well as anticipating some aspects of Carlos Santana’s style. Mayall acquits himself fairly well on this mostly original set (with occasional guest horns), though some of the material is fairly mundane. Highlights include the uncharacteristically rambunctious “Leaping Christine” and the cover of Freddie King’s “Someday After a While (You’ll Be Sorry).”

A1 A Hard Road
A2 It’s Over
A3 You Don’t Love Me
A4 The Stumble
A5 Another Kinda Love
A6 Hit The Highway
A7 Leaping Christine

B1 Dust My Blues
B2 There’s Always Work
B3 The Same Way
B4 The Supernatural
B5 Top Of The Hill
B6 Someday After Awhile (You’ll Be Sorry)
B7 Living Alone

Bass Guitar, Photography By [Back Cover] – John McVie
Drums – Aynsley Dunbar
Reeds – Alan Skidmore, Johnny Almond, Ray Warleigh
Vocals, Lead Guitar – Peter Green
Vocals, Organ, Harmonica, Piano, Guitar – John Mayall


%d bloggers like this: