Skip to content

John Denver – Take Me To Tomorrow (1970/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

John Denver – Take Me To Tomorrow (1970/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 31:26 minutes | 684 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © RCA/Legacy

Take Me To Tomorrow is John Denver’s captivating sophomore masterpiece. This 1970 classic surprised fans with its heavily influenced folk-rock sound. Breaking into the Billboard 200, the outing was one of Denver’s most inventive. It features the standouts “Aspenglow,” “Take Me To Tomorrow” and “Carolina In My Mind.”

Take Me to Tomorrow will come as a surprise to anyone expecting the pretty folk music and “listen to the wisdom of the children” lyrics usually associated with John Denver. The album, with its comparatively heavy folk-rock sound married to lyrics that mention belching and latrines, strives for the realism and capital “I” importance of Paul Simon, or even Phil Ochs, without the blatant politics. Denver tackles two Tom Paxton songs, including “Forest Lawn,” a wry swipe at the cemetery business that echoes Evelyn Waugh’s classic novel The Loved One. Pretty folk isn’t entirely absent – “Aspenglow” is the cut that is usually included on anthologies. According to the liner notes, Take Me to Tomorrow and Denver’s solo debut, Rhymes & Reasons, combine to replicate his concert performance circa 1969, with Rhymes & Reasons comprising the lighter first-half of the show, and Take Me to Tomorrow the more rousing and cerebral second-half. Viewed from that perspective, the album accomplishes its goal, but it is not a typical John Denver album and will not be to every fan’s liking.

01 – Take Me To Tomorrow
02 – Isabel
03 – Follow Me
04 – Forest Lawn
05 – Aspenglow
06 – Amsterdam
07 – Anthem – Revelation
08 – Sticky Summer Weather
09 – Carolina In My Mind
10 – Jimmy Newman
11 – Molly


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: