Skip to content

John Denver – John Denver’s Greatest Hits (Remastered) (1973/2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

John Denver – John Denver’s Greatest Hits (Remastered) (1973/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 40:24 minutes | 900 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

His #1-smash “best-of” from 1973! The collection includes material from his earlier days as a songwriter (going back to 1965 on “For Bobbie”) to his later hit “Rocky Mountain High.” Indeed many of these tracks were not hits per se, but as Stephen Thomas Erlewine wrote for Allmusic, “the[se] were [the] songs that defined him.”

Moreover, Greatest Hits is important historically because it contains new, revisionist recordings of several songs. Notable new versions include “Leaving on a Jet Plane,” “Starwood in Aspen”, “Follow Me,” “Rhymes and Reasons,” “The Eagle and the Hawk,” “Sunshine On My Shoulders” and “Poems, Prayers, and Promises”.

Denver explained this himself in the liner notes by saying that he had picked the numbers most requested in his concerts, but that “I felt that some of these songs had grown a bit, that I am singing better than I was four or five years ago, and that I would like to treat some of the songs a little differently than I had in the original recordings.”

After its release these versions were used for airplay despite differing in subtle but important ways from the original versions; generally, they were more polished, featured a more mature-sounding Denver, included strings, and were extended somewhat.

Greatest Hits climbed by the following spring to the top of the Billboard 200 pop albums chart, went platinum, and was one of the first albums world-wide to sell over 10 million copies.

1. Take Me Home, Country Roads (Original Version) 03:08
2. Follow Me (“Greatest Hits” Version) 02:56
3. Starwood In Aspen (“Greatest Hits” Version) 03:10
4. For Baby (For Bobbie) 02:55
5. Rhymes and Reasons (“Greatest Hits” Version) 03:11
6. Leaving, On a Jet Plane (“Greatest Hits” Version) 04:04
7. The Eagle and the Hawk (“Greatest Hits” Version) 02:14
8. Sunshine on My Shoulders (“Greatest Hits” Version) 05:10
9. Goodbye Again 03:36
10. Poems, Prayers and Promises (“Greatest Hits” Version) 04:34
11. Rocky Mountain High 04:41

John Denver, vocals, acoustic guitar
Eric Weissberg, guitars, banjo
Dick Kniss, bass
Frank Owens, piano
Herb Lovelle, drums
Gary Chester, percussion

Produced by Milton Okun

Digitally remastered


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: