Skip to content

John Coltrane – Coltrane Jazz (1961/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

John Coltrane – Coltrane Jazz (1961/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 38:53 minutes | 1,41 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Rhino Atlantic

Coltrane Jazz is the sixth studio album by jazz musician John Coltrane, released in 1961 on Atlantic Records. The song “Village Blues” is noted as a landmark recording, as it marks the first session date of the early John Coltrane Quartet on record. Featured alongside Coltrane are pianist McCoy Tyner, drummer Elvin Jones, and bassist Steve Davis (who would within 18 months have been replaced by first Reggie Workman and then Jimmy Garrison who would stay with Coltrane until his death.)

Having left the Davis band for good in the spring of 1960, Coltrane formed his first touring quartet for a residency at the Jazz Gallery club in Manhattan, eventually settling on the line-up of Tyner, Jones, and bassist Steve Davis in September. This group entered the studio on October 21, recording “Village Blues” at the beginning of the week of sessions that produced My Favorite Things.


1. Hoagy Carmichael – Little Old Lady
2. John Coltrane – Village Blues
3. Johnny Mercer – My Shining Hour
4. John Coltrane – Fifth House
5. John Coltrane – Harmonique
6. John Coltrane – Like Sonny
7. John Coltrane – I’ll Wait and Pray
8. John Coltrane – Some Other Blues


%d bloggers like this: