Johannette Zomer, Tulipa Consort – Vivaldi: Laudate! (2016) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Johannette Zomer, Tulipa Consort – Vivaldi: Laudate! (2016)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 01:11:40 minutes | 2,83 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/176,4 kHz | Time – 01:11:40 minutes | 1,88 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: nativeDSDmusic | Artwork: Digital Booklet,  Front Cover
Genre: Classical | © Channel Classics Records B.V.

Several years ago I founded my own ensemble, the Tulipa Consort. As a singer I have the privilege of performing with countless conductors, orchestras and choirs at the most beautiful and unique venues in the world. It gives me great delight to sing, but so often in the run-up to the concerts compromises have to be made between the performers (especially between conductor and singer) so that they can agree on the approach, and this is often no easy task. Working with my own ensemble has given me artistic freedom from the very beginning, for by selecting my own repertoire and musicians I feel entirely at home in the music, which greatly benefits the performance. For the first CD by the Tulipa Consort I have chosen sacred music by Antonio Vivaldi. The idea occured to me several years ago when I sang his Laudate Pueri in Montreal with the cellist Jaap ter Linden. I was moved and impressed by the diversity of this work. Vivaldi is too often associated only with the Four Seasons and the Gloria, while there is so much more. This soon became apparent when I began to compile a programme around Laudate pueri: the somewhat slower pieces in particular, such as the second movement of Laudate pueri, ‘Sit nomen Domine’ and the second aria from RV 631 ‘Rosa quae moritur’, proved to possess great depth and beauty. And we simply had to include the lively ‘Ascende Laeta’, which bubbles and foams with joy. I hope you will enjoy listening to this repertoire just as much as we, the Tulipa Consort, have enjoyed performing it. –Johannette Zomer


Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Sinfonia in D major RV 125 for strings & b.c.
1 Allegro 1.30
2 Adagio 3.40
3 Allegro 1.30
‘Ascende laeta’ (Introduzione al Dixit) RV 635 for soprano, strings & b.c.
4 Allegro 4.13
5 Recitativo 0.44
6 Presto 3.28
from ‘Juditha Triumphans’ RV 644 Juditha’s arias
7 ‘Vivat in pace’ for soprano & strings 3.46
8 ‘Transit aetas’ for soprano, mandolin & strings 4.17
‘O qui coeli terraeque serenitas’ RV 631 for soprano, strings & b.c.
9 Allegro 4.24
10 Recitativo 0.30
11 Largo 6.58
12 Allegro 1.38
from ‘Juditha Triumphans’ RV 644 Vagaus’s aria
13 ‘Umbrae carae’ for soprano, recorders, strings & b.c. 5.33
Sinfonia ‘Al Santo Sepolcro’ RV 169 for strings & b.c.
14 Adagio molto 2.07
15 Allegro ma poco 1.39
‘Laudate pueri’ in C minor RV 600 for soprano, strings & b.c.
16 Allegro 2.04
17 Largo 3.34
18 Allegro 1.51
19 Andante 3.21
20 Largo 2.40
21 Presto 1.47
22 Allegro 1.53
23 Largo 4.00
24 Allegro 1.40
25 Allegro 1.45

Johannette Zomer, soprano
Tulipa Consort:
violin 1: Lidewij van der Voort, Annabelle Ferdinand, Ryuko Reid, Jacek Kurzydlo
violin 2: Marc Cooper, Franc Polman, Joseph Tan
viola: Yoshiko Morita, John Ma
cello: Robert Smith
double bass: Maggie Urquhart
recorders: Daniel Brüggen, Annelies Schraa
theorbe & mandolin: Michiel Niessen
harpsichord: Siebe Henstra
organ: Bart Naessens

Recorded: Waalse Kerk, Amsterdam, November 2015



%d bloggers like this: