Skip to content

Johann Sebastian Bach – Violin Concertos – Cecilia Bernardini, Dunedin Consort, John Butt (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Johann Sebastian Bach – Violin Concertos – Cecilia Bernardini, Dunedin Consort, John Butt (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 59:29 minutes | 2,21 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: LINN | Artwork: Digital Booklet | © LINN Records
Recorded: Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh, UK, 17–20 November 2014

Opening the program is the colourful and joyful concerto for violin and oboe (Alfredo Bernardini, oboe) with its supremely lyrical central movement. Two of Bach’s solo violin concertos, each overflowing with inventive detail, and the Sinfonia with solo oboe that opens Cantata 21, follow.

The program culminates in one of Bach’s greatest masterpieces – the Double Concerto for two violins (Huw Daniel, violin), with its famous and sublime slow movement. Although Bach was most famous as an organist and keyboard player, he was also a fine violinist; his idiomatic writing and characteristic flair is evident in the many dazzling moments he creates.

‘There are so many things to marvel at: her husky, shapely tone, her earthy way with rhythm, how she tugs playfully the top of phrases, her ability to dart in and out of ensemble textures and make the whole thing so joyously convivial.’ –The Guardian

This is a fabulous recording of some of my favourite music; I have yet to hear a recording by John Butt that is not utterly convincing; with his Dunedins, he has struck gold once again – this goes straight to the top of my pile for rainy days when I need cheering up!’ –Early Music Review


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Concerto for violin and oboe in C minor BWV1060
1 Allegro[4’50]
2 Adagio[4’46]
3 Allegro[3’23]

Violin Concerto in E major BWV1042
4 Allegro[7’40]
5 Adagio[5’31]
6 Allegro assai[2’41]

Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis, BWV 21
7 Sinfonia[2’41]

Violin Concerto in A minor BWV1041
8 [Allegro moderato][3’49]
9 Andante[6’05]
10 Allegro assai[3’32]

Concerto for two violins in D minor BWV1043
11 Vivace[3’40]
12 Largo ma non tanto[6’18]
13 Allegro[4’33]

Cecilia Bernardini, violin
Dunedin Consort
John Butt, conductor
Alfredo Bernardini, oboe
Huw Daniel, violin


%d bloggers like this: