Skip to content

Johann Sebastian Bach – The Violin Sonatas – Midori Seiler (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Johann Sebastian Bach – The Violin Sonatas – Midori Seiler (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:08:01 minutes | 678 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Artwork: Digital Booklet | © Berlin Classics/Edel Germany GmbH
Recorded: Johann-Sebastian-Bach-Saal, Köthen from September 26 – 28, 2015

This statement by Bach’s biographer Philipp Spitta to sum up the Ciaconna in Partita No. 2 in D minor is in fact true of the entire Sei Solo cycle. The sublimity and originality of these compositions can never be emphasised enough. Johann Sebastian Bach extravagantly draws on his rich fund of musical idiom to create harmonies and tone colours that reveal his masterstroke: by applying rigidly entrenched rules he gives free rein to the creative spirit. The rules of “pure composition”, which until this cycle were applied only in large-scale polyphonic works for ensembles and in choral and keyboard works, are now being imposed by Bach on the little four-stringed violin in an uncompromising and, at times, awe-inspiring manner. Did I become a violinist to play Bach’s solo works or do I play Bach’s solo works in order to be a violinist? All I can say for sure is that my inner urge to play and master these pieces has been my motivation for many years, an ambition that continues to push me to the limits and beyond. The Sei Solo works are but a small part of Johann Sebastian Bach’s phenomenal oeuvre. Yet, their performance is the most important part of my violin-playing career and the tribute to my many hours of practice. –Midori Seiler


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Violin Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001
1 Adagio 4:26
2 Fuga Allegro 4:42
3 Siciliana 3:50
4 Presto 3:38

Violin Sonata No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003
5 Grave 4:04
6 Fuga 7:19
7 Andante 5:34
8 Allegro 5:32

Violin Sonata No. 3 in C major, BWV 1005
9 Adagio 4:37
10 Fuga 13:47
11 Largo 3:30
12 Allegro assai 6:56

Midori Seiler, violin


%d bloggers like this: