Skip to content

Johann Sebastian Bach – Sonatas & Partitas for Solo Violin, Vol. 1, BWV 1004-1006 – Isabelle Faust (2010) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Johann Sebastian Bach – Sonatas & Partitas for Solo Violin, Vol. 1, BWV 1004-1006 – Isabelle Faust (2010)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 01:08:55 minutes | 1,13 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: | © Harmonia Mundi
Recorded: septembre 2009, Teldex Studio Berlin

“Clapton is God!” was the well-known graffiti scrawled across 20th century London, praising the Englishman’s fiery guitar playing. Based on Isabelle Faust’s blazing accounts of Bach’s sonatas and partitas on this 2010 Harmonia Mundi disc, one might expect to see the graffiti “Faust is God!” scrawled across 21st century Paris. Rather than play all six of these canonical works of the solo violin literature, Faust has chosen the D minor and E major partitas and placed the C major Sonata between them. All three are tremendously difficult both technically and expressively, but starting with the D minor Partita with its celebrated Chaconne was particularly audacious. Faust rises to the challenge with an utterly devastating account of the work. Playing with only a dab of vibrato but a boatload of virtuosity, she overcomes every technical hurdle in this surpassingly difficult work. She saves the best for last, and her Chaconne is stunningly powerful, as well as amazingly nuanced and profoundly moving. Her other two performances are equally impressive, especially the opening Adagio and Fugue from the C major Sonata, which builds from a whisper to a shattering contrapuntal climax. There have been other great recordings of these works, but Faust’s surely belongs among the best. Harmonia Mundi’s sound is close but not overly intimate.

Review by James Leonard


Partita II BWV 1004 in D minor
1. I. Allemanda 05:36
2. II. Corrente 02:30
3. III. Sarabanda 04:22
4. IV. Giga 03:34
5. V. Ciaccona 12:32

Sonata III BWV 1005 in C major
6. I. Adagio 04:43
7. II. Fuga 09:46
8. III. Largo 02:54
9. IV. Allegro assai 04:45

Partita III BWV 1006 in E major
10. I. Preludio 03:39
11. II. Loure 03:39
12. III. Gavotte en Rondeau 03:08
13. IV. Menuet I – V. Menuet II 04:48
14. VI. Boure 01:18
15. VII. Gigue 01:34

Isabelle Faust, violin Stradivarius



%d bloggers like this: