Skip to content

Johann Sebastian Bach – Sonatas & Partitas, BWV 1001-1006 – Markku Luolajan-Mikkola (2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Johann Sebastian Bach – Sonatas & Partitas, BWV 1001-1006 – Markku Luolajan-Mikkola (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:38:00 minutes | 2,82 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: LINN | Digital Booklet | © LINN Records
Recorded: June 2014, Church of St Catherine, Karjaa, Finland

With two Gramophone Awards to his name and a reputation synonymous with excellence, Markku Luolajan-Mikkola is a musician who is at the top of his profession. Transcribing Bach’s hugely popular works for cello, especially one in Baroque set-up, was not without its risks, although performing on Baroque cello also offers compelling advantages.

Luolajan-Mikkola takes his interpretative cue from the set-up of the Baroque instrument, which informs such issues as tuning, vibrato, fingering and articulation. Performing the Sonatas and Partitas on the cello is so challenging that it is almost impossible to imagine a cellist of Bach’s day playing them, but Luolajan-Mikkola rises to the challenge with aplomb.

Luolajan-Mikkola’s main aim in this recording has been to capture emotion and convey expression according to the respective key and character of each movement, which he achieves in spades.


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Partita No 2 in D minor BWV1004
1 Allemanda[4’42]
2 Corrente[3’10]
3 Sarabanda[4’17]
4 Giga[4’30]
5 Ciaccona[15’15]

Sonata No 2 in A minor BWV1003
6 Grave[3’44]
7 Fuga[10’39]
8 Andante[5’13]
9 Allegro[7’03]

Partita No 3 in E major BWV1006
10 Preludio[4’47]
11 Loure[4’23]
12 Gavotte en rondeau[3’15]
13 Menuet 1 – Menuet 2[4’54]
14 Bourrée[1’41]
15 Gigue[2’10]

Partita No 1 in B minor BWV1002
16 Allemanda[5’32]
17 Double[3’57]
18 Corrente[4’14]
19 Double[3’53]
20 Sarabande[4’59]
21 Double[3’23]
22 Tempo di borea[3’54]
23 Double[4’13]

Sonata No 1 in G minor BWV1001
24 Adagio[4’05]
25 Fuga: Allegro[6’47]
26 Siciliana[3’28]
27 Presto[4’10]

Sonata No 3 in C major BWV1005
28 Adagio[4’29]
29 Fuga[12’41]
30 Largo[2’57]
31 Allegro assai[5’35]

Markku Luolajan-Mikkola, cello (Baroque cello by Barak Norman, London, c.1700)


%d bloggers like this: