Skip to content

Johann Sebastian Bach – Partitas Nos. 2 & 6, Toccata – David Fray (2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Johann Sebastian Bach – Partitas Nos. 2 & 6, Toccata – David Fray (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:05:20 minutes | 958 MB
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital booklet
Recorded: Notre-Dame du Liban, Paris, 24-26.IX.2012

Сomposer: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Artist: David Fray
Title: J.S. Bach – Partitas Nos. 2 & 6, Toccata
Genre: Classical
Label: © EMI Records Ltd / Virgin Classics
Release Date: 2012

David Fray, described as «perhaps the most inspired, certainly the most original Bach-player of his generation,“ launched his career with Bach and this is his third album to feature the composer’s keyboard music.
“We shouldn’t be afraid of acknowledging the expressiveness of Bach’s music,” says Fray. “The Romantics don’t have a monopoly on expressivity!”

David Fray was born in 1981 and began the piano when he was 4 years old. He worked with Jacques Rouvier at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, and graduated with top honours.

David Fray has received numerous prizes and awards including a prize and a grant by the Banque Populaire, the Diploma of Outstanding Merit at the Fifth International Hamamatsu Competition in Japan; the Jeune soliste de l’année (Young Soloist of the Year) award, the most important prize awarded by the Commission des radios publiques de langue française; the Feydeau de Brou Saint Paul grant and the Révélation classique (Classical discovery) prize from ADAMI. At the 2004 Montreal International Music Competition, David Fray received both the Second Grand Prize, and the Prize for the best interpretation of an imposed Canadian work. As a direct reward for his success in this competition, ATMA Classique released his first CD (Liszt and Schubert).

David Fray gave numerous recitals in Europe, America and Asia, in the most prestigious halls: New York Carnegie Hall, Cité dela Musique, Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, Théâtre du Châtelet, Auditorium du Louvre in Paris, Place des Arts in Montréal, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Alti Hall in Kyoto, Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, as well as in festivals such as La Roque d’Anthéron, Montpellier, Piano aux Jacobins in Toulouse, Colmar, Saint-Denis, Bad Kissingen, Ruhr, Rheingau.

David Fray has been supported by artists such as Dimitri Bashkirov, Menahem Pressler, Paul Badura-Skoda, Christoph Eschenbach, and Pierre Boulez. Under his recommendation, David Fray received in Germany the prize for young talents of “Klavier Festival Ruhr” where he played in Summer 2006. Christoph Eschenbach invited him at the 10th Beethoven Easter Festival in Warsaw to play Bach Concertos with him, Robert Levine and Ya-Fei Chuang.

He performed with the Orchestre Métropolitain du Grand Montréal under the direction of Yannick Nézet-Séguin, the Orchestre de Paris under Christoph Eschenbach and John Axelrod, the Orchestre National de France and Kurt Masur in Paris, Vienna, Germany and the USA, the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Deutsche Sinfonie-Orchester, the Jerusalem Symphony, Amsterdam Sinfonietta, Netherlands Chamber Orchestra, the Monte-Carlo Philharmonic, New-York Philharmonic and Esa-Pekka Salonen, London Philharmonic, Salzburg Mozarteum Orchester, Deutsches Symphonie Orchester, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, as well as in tour with Riccardo Muti in Italy and with Bayerische Rundfunk Orchestra, again with Riccardo Muti. He will soon play with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Cleveland, San Francisco, Boston Symphony, and the NHK in Tokyo.

In 2007, a recording devoted to Bach and Boulez was released that won him great critical acclaim (Newcomer of the Year 2008 by BBC Music Magazine, Best recording / Echo Preis 2008), as well as his recording of Bach Concertos with the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen (with a DVD by Bruno Monsaingeon) and his Schubert recital.

Partita No. 2 bwv 826 in C minor
1 i Sinfonia: Grave – Adagio – Andante 4:33
2 ii Allemande 4:43
3 iii Courante 2:11
4 iv Sarabande 3:42
5 v Rondeau 1:20
6 vi Capriccio 3:01
7 Toccata bwv 911 in C minor 10:08
Partita No. 6 bwv 830 in E minor
8 i Toccata 9:32
9 ii Allemande 4:08
10 iii Courante 4:27
11 iv Air 1:22
12 v Sarabande 7:32
13 vi Tempo di Gavotta 1:44
14 vii Gigue 6:48

David Fray, piano


%d bloggers like this: