Skip to content

Johann Sebastian Bach – Magnificat – Ricercar Consort, Philippe Pierlot (2009) [Official Digital Download 24bit/88,2kHz]

Johann Sebastian Bach – Magnificat – Ricercar Consort, Philippe Pierlot (2009)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 01:04:40 minutes | 1,12 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Digital Booklet | © Mirare

Philippe Pierlot and the Ricercar Consort’s 2006 recording of Bach’s Magnificat brings back the glory days of historically informed performances, those halcyon days in the 1980s when musicians, empowered by scholarship and energized by virtuosity, were recording the Baroque repertoire with the zeal of the newly converted. Though Pierlot and his musicians are of a younger generation, they bring a missionary fervor to the music, a program of Bach’s Magnificat, BWV 243, and Missa Brevis, BWV 235, interspersed with two well-chosen organ works, the Fuga sopra il Magnificat, BWV 733, and the Präludium und Fuga, BWV 541. Pierlot’s textures are clean, his rhythms buoyant, his colors bright, and tempos brisk, but not rushed in the fast movements, and contemplative but not moribund in the slow movements. The Ricercar Consort plays with technical brilliance and manifest enthusiasm as an ensemble, and the violin and flute soloists deliver sparkling performances. But perhaps the best thing is the five vocal soloists and given that they also serve as the choir, their performances are even more remarkable. With clarion tones, gracious technique, and an effortless blend, they comport themselves with the ease and luster of the best jazz vocal groups, and the spirit they bring to their parts is infectious. Francis Jacob delivers forceful yet effervescent readings of the two organ works. Mirare’s digital sound is as clear and as real as a blue sky.


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Magnificat à 5 Voci 3 Trombe Tympali
2 Travers. 2 Hautb, 2 Violini Viola è Continuo BWV 243
1. Magnificat. tutti 2’50
2. Et exultavit. soprano 2, violini, viola, continuo 2’20
3. Quia respexit. Adagio. soprano 1, oboe d’amore, continuo 2’39
4. Omnes generationes. tutti 1’12
5. Quia fecit mihi magna. basso, continuo 1’56
6. Et misericordia. alto, tenore, 2 travers, violini col sord., continuo 3’18
7. Fecit potentiam. tutti 1’43
8. Deposuit potentes. tenore, violini, continuo 1’57
9. Esurientes. alto, 2 travers, continuo 2’50
10. Suscepit Israel. soprano 1&2, alto, 2 oboe, continuo 2’08
11. Sicut locutus est. soprano 1&2, alto, tenore, basso, continuo 1’30
12. Gloria. tutti 2’02
13. Fuga sopra il Magnificat BWV 733 4’24

Missa BWV 235
14. Kyrie. tutti 6’49
15. Gloria. tutti 2’54
16. Gratias agimus tibi. basso, violini, continuo 3’22
17. Domine Fili. alto, oboe, violini, viola, continuo 5’22
18. Qui tollis. tenore, oboe, continuo 3’50
19. Cum Sancto Spiritu. tutti 3’50
20. Präludium und Fuga in G BWV 541 7’49

Maria Keohane, Anna Zander, sopranos
Carlos Mena, alto
Hans-Jörg Mammel, ténor
Stephan MacLeod, basse
Francis Jacob, orgue
Ricercar Consort
Philippe Pierlot, direction


%d bloggers like this: