Skip to content

Johann Johannsson – Englaborn & Variations (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Jóhann Jóhannsson – Englabörn & Variations (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:34:44 minutes | 884 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon Classics

Jóhann Jóhannsson, the Epos String Quartt and percussionist Matthias M.D. Hemstock perform compositional music written by Jóhann Jóhannsson. Deutsche Grammophon will release Jóhann Jóhannsson’s critically-acclaimed debut album in a newly-remastered version – now with much fuller and improved sound, and combined with a complete album of brand-new reworks!

Englabörn is a jewel from Jóhann’s special catalogue. Together with the new Variations, this double album – beginning with the hauntingly beautiful and intriguing track, “Odi et Amo”, takes the listener on a journey through the composer’s extraordinary and unique sound-world.

Variations features reworks by internationally acclaimed artists such as legendary Ryūichi Sakamoto, A Winged Victory for the Sullen (feat. Dustin O Halloran), Theater of Voices and Alex Somers, as well as DG’s very own Víkingur Ólafsson – to name but a few.

“…This first solo album from Jóhann Jóhannsson is absolutely beautiful, and it has only become moreso over the past few months, sustaining me for long periods of time when other music just wouldn’t do the trick…Just as Catullus balanced the extreme emotional opposites of love and hate into a composite whole the greater of its parts, so does Jóhannsson transform these sixteen miniatures into an exquisite listening experience…” (Andy Beta,

“…Jóhannsson’s Englabörn is composed of music he wrote, as performed by the Epos String Quartet, with a light gauze of electronic processing applied to it…” (Andy Beta,


01. Odi et Amo
02. Englabörn
03. Jói & Karen
04. Þetta gerist á bestu bæjum
05. Sálfræðingur
06. “Ég sleppi þér aldrei”
07. Sálfræðingur deyr
08. Bað
09. “Ég heyrði allt án þess að hlusta”
10. Karen býr til engil
11. Englabörn-tilbrigði
12. “Ég átti gráa æsku”
13. Krókódíll
14. “Ef ég hefði aldrei…”
15. …eins og venjulegt fólk
16. Odi et Amo-bis

01. “Ég heyrði allt án þess að hlusta”
02. Odi et Amo
03. Englabörn
04. Jói & Karen
05. Holy Thursday (Ég heyrði allt án þess að hlusta)
06. Englabörn
07. Odi et Amo-bis
08. Sálfræðingur deyr
09. Odi et Amo-bis
10. …eins og venjulegt fólk
11. Odi et Amo


%d bloggers like this: