Skip to content

Joe Walsh – Analog Man (2012) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Joe Walsh – Analog Man (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:32 minutes | 804 MB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | © Fantasy Records

Grammy Award-winning Rock and Roll legend, Joe Walsh, returns with his latest endeavor, Analog Man, his first solo recording in over two decades. Analog Man is a timeless effort that features Walsh’s beloved charm and musical know-how. Guitarist for the iconic rock band, The Eagles, Joe Walsh is best known for his powerful guitar licks and harder rock sound. The album is a playful reference to a new digital era. Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the ten-track album was produced by Jeff Lynne and Joe Walsh with Tommy Lee James co-writing some of the tracks. The album boasts a guest appearance by Ringo Starr on Walsh’s favorite song off the album, “Lucky That Way”.

So anachronistic is Joe Walsh that he not only celebrates how he’s an “Analog Man in a digital world,” he hires Jeff Lynne as his producer for his first solo album in 20 years. And, apart from the odd lyrical reference to an iPod or Walsh’s ongoing recovery, Analog Man sounds like it could have come out in 1992 and that’s all due to Lynne, a man who makes a record in one particular way: crisp, clean, hook-laden, and sequenced so tightly there’s no room to breathe. With no apparently irony, it sounds digital, not analog — there’s nothing greasy, even the James Gang’s “Funk #49” has been given an immaculate 21st Century Digital Makeover and is now called “Funk 50” — but it’s been so long since Walsh has worked with a conscientious producer (this may be his first time, actually), he winds up reaping some benefit from such a controlled setting. Analog Man isn’t rock & roll, not by a long shot, but rather a gleaming pop album in the vein of Full Moon Fever, a sound that suits Walsh’s new sobriety. Perhaps he hits his recovery theme a little too hard — a criticism that could also be leveled toward his songs about being an old fart — but he sounds comfortable where he is and Lynne presents him in a shining, flattering light. As comebacks go, he could do a lot worse than this.

01 – Analog Man
02 – Wrecking Ball
03 – Lucky That Way
04 – Spanish Dancer
05 – Band Played On
06 – Family
07 – One Day At A Time
08 – Hi-Roller Baby
09 – Funk 50
10 – India


%d bloggers like this: