Skip to content

Joe Satriani – The Extremist (1992/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Joe Satriani – The Extremist (1992/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 00:47:51 minutes | 1,04 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks |  © Epic Records

The Extremist is Joe Satriani’s fourth studio album and was originally released on July 17, 1992. The album garnered Satriani his fourth Grammy nomination, once again for Best Rock Instrumental Performance. The Extremist peaked at #22 on the US Billboard 200, remaining on the chart for 28 weeks. Three singles charted on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock chart: “Friends” (#12); “Summer Song” (#5); and “Cryin’” (#24).

Recorded 1990-192 at Bearsville Studios in Bearsville, New York; Coast Recorders and Alpha & Omega Recording in San Francisco; Ocean Way Recording in Hollywood; Record One Studios in Sherman Oaks, Los Angeles; Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, California. Remastered by John Cuniberti, analog mixes are 30ips 1/2″ tape, transferred and mastered to digital at 96/24

Produced by Joe Satriani, Andy Johns, and John Cuniberti

01 – Friends
02 – The Extremist / Interview
03 – War
04 – Cryin’
05 – Rubina’s Blue Sky of Happiness
06 – Summer Song
07 – Tears in the Rain
08 – Why
09 – Motorcycle Driver
10 – New Blues

Remastering Notes by John Cuniberti:

When I was first told about this box set project, I suggested that we remaster the entire catalogue. I made this suggestion for two reasons.

First and most importantly, Joe’s albums were first digitized in 1987. While they were well done by the standards of the time, there have been vast improvements in digital audio since then. To achieve this goal, we started by searching through Sony’s tape vault in New York. Then, each original analog two-track tape was carefully transferred to high resolution digital using a Pacific Microsonics Model Two converter at 96k / 24bits. This produced outstanding sonic results that are closer in sound to the original mix tapes than on previous CDs. This process even reveals a few flaws, but if you have any of the original Joe Satriani CDs, you’ll appreciate the improvements in sound quality in this remastered box set.

The second reason for remastering was to provide more dynamic consistency between the albums themselves. Since the advent of the CD there has been a steady increase in their volume levels. This practice started with 7” vinyl records to gain more attention when played in jukeboxes. Unfortunately, the competition continues with CDs and in extreme cases, clipping and other audible distortion is introduced when too much digital processing (limiting) is applied during mastering. My approach to this box set was to use only the smallest amount of limiting to balance the perceived levels of each song presented. This approach produces a cleaner and more dynamic presentation of the entire catalogue. It also allows the listener to move freely between the older albums and the newer ones without the need to adjust their playback volume.

Turn it up and enjoy.

John Cuniberti


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: