Skip to content

Joe Satriani – Flying In A Blue Dream (1989/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96Hz]

Joe Satriani – Flying In A Blue Dream (1989/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 1:05:00 minutes | 1,47 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | © Epic Records

Flying in a Blue Dream is Joe Satriani’s third studio album and was originally released in October 1989. It was one of Satriani’s most popular albums, peaking at #23 on the US Billboard 200 chart and staying on the chart for 39 weeks. The album was certified Gold in January 1990 and was nominated for Best Rock Instrumental Performance at the 1991 Grammy Awards, Satriani’s third nomination. Four singles from the album charted on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart: “Big Bad Moon” (#31); “One Big Rush” (#36); “Back to Shalla-Bal” (#17); and “I Believe” (#17). Remastered by John Cuniberti, analog mixes are 15ips Dolby SR, transferred and mastered to digital at 96/24.

An hour-long disc filled with musical explorations and compositions that defy belief, Flying in a Blue Dream is unquestionably Joe Satriani at his absolute best. Breaking his all-instrumental tradition for the first time, he croons on six of the disc’s 18 tracks, including the weird “Strange”; and the bluesy, hard-rocking “Big Bad Moon”; and the driving “Can’t Slow Down.” Satriani’s voice isn’t extraordinary, but it fits extremely well with the music he creates, especially on the acoustic-tinged, uplifting “I Believe.” It’s his playing that’s the really impressive thing here, though; his unique tone and complex song structures are enhanced by his signature playing style and the incredible array of effects and tricks he wrestles out of his instrument. The disc closes with the high-flying, misty piece “Into the Light,” leaving behind a feeling of real wonder. Soaring, powerful, and triumphant, this recording deserves a place in everyone’s collection.

01 – Flying in a Blue Dream
02 – The Mystical Potato Head Groove Thing
03 – Can’t Slow Down
04 – Headless
05 – Strange
06 – I Believe
07 – One Big Rush
08 – Big Bad Moon
09 – The Feeling
10 – The Phone Call
11 – Day at the Beach (New Rays from an Ancient Sun)
12 – Back to Shalla-Bal
13 – Ride
14 – The Forgotten, Pt. 1
15 – The Forgotten, Pt. 2
16 – The Bells of Lal, Pt. 1
17 – The Bells of Lal, Pt. 2
18 – Into the Light

Remastering Notes by John Cuniberti:

When I was first told about this box set project, I suggested that we remaster the entire catalogue. I made this suggestion for two reasons.

First and most importantly, Joe’s albums were first digitized in 1987. While they were well done by the standards of the time, there have been vast improvements in digital audio since then. To achieve this goal, we started by searching through Sony’s tape vault in New York. Then, each original analog two-track tape was carefully transferred to high resolution digital using a Pacific Microsonics Model Two converter at 96k / 24bits. This produced outstanding sonic results that are closer in sound to the original mix tapes than on previous CDs. This process even reveals a few flaws, but if you have any of the original Joe Satriani CDs, you’ll appreciate the improvements in sound quality in this remastered box set.

The second reason for remastering was to provide more dynamic consistency between the albums themselves. Since the advent of the CD there has been a steady increase in their volume levels. This practice started with 7” vinyl records to gain more attention when played in jukeboxes. Unfortunately, the competition continues with CDs and in extreme cases, clipping and other audible distortion is introduced when too much digital processing (limiting) is applied during mastering. My approach to this box set was to use only the smallest amount of limiting to balance the perceived levels of each song presented. This approach produces a cleaner and more dynamic presentation of the entire catalogue. It also allows the listener to move freely between the older albums and the newer ones without the need to adjust their playback volume.

Turn it up and enjoy.

John Cuniberti


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: