Skip to content

Joe Satriani – Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards (2010/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Joe Satriani – Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards (2010/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 53:10 minutes | 1,18 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Epic – Red Ink

Produced and recorded by Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Metallica), Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards, is Joe’s 14th studio album. Once again, Joe is joined by his long-term drummer Jeff Campitelli, alongside newcomers Mike Keneally (keyboards – Frank Zappa, Steve Vai) and Allen Whitman (bass guitar – Mermen). On the eleven tracks that make up Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards, Satriani‟s classic sound is accompanied by a surprisingly rich new texture. The first single “Light Years Away” provides a great introduction to the album, alongside several other high energy offerings, like the anthemic “Pyrrhic Victoria”, “Wormhole Wizards” and “Premonition”.

Apparently his time in Chickenfoot made Joe Satriani want to get back to where he once belonged, so he goes retro on 2010’s Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards. About as far away from the heavy-footed party rock of Chickenfoot as possible, Black Swans is pure guitar prog, filled with compressed boogies, sci-fi synths, exotic flourishes, and all of Satch’s phasers and flangers in full-tilt overdrive. Often, it feels like a throwback to the glory days of Surfing with the Alien, but there are crucial differences and they’re not subtle, either. First off, Satriani’s rock doesn’t rock so hard — when the tempo is a little faster or when a song is built on riffs, not melody, it’s for a change in color, so nothing on Black Swans plays aggressively. Furthermore, the album lingers instead of pushes, Satriani setting the tone with long legato melodies and solos with plenty of pauses. As such, it’s not a record that will tear your head off but rather a record to appreciate for its contours and textures, a mature work from one of the great rock guitarists. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01. Premonition
02. Dream Song
03. Pyrrhic Victoria
04. Light Years Away
05. Solitude
06. Littleworth Lane
07. The Golden Room
08. Two Sides to Every Story
09. Wormhole Wizards
10. Wind in the Trees
11. God Is Crying


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: