Skip to content

Jody Miller – There’s A Party Goin’ On (1972) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Jody Miller – There’s A Party Goin’ On (1972)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 29:50 minutes | 1,02 GB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Columbia – Legacy

Although she became famous for “Queen of the House,” her response to Roger Miller’s “King of the Road,” Jody Miller pioneered a fusion of folk, country, and pop that set the stage for the folky country-pop of the ’70s. Raised in Oklahoma, she was born Myrna Joy Miller and, inspired by the music of Joan Baez, learned to play guitar at the age of 14. Soon after, Miller joined a folk trio and began performing at a local coffeehouse. Lou Gottlieb, a member of folk group the Limelighters, heard her sing and was impressed enough to offer to help her get a recording contract, provided she move to Los Angeles. Miller initially declined, as she had recently married, but eventually she and her husband went to California to test the waters. A friend of the family arranged an audition with Capitol Records, which signed Miller while suggesting that she change her name from Myrna to the folkier “Jody.”

01. Jody Miller – There’s a Party Goin’ On (02:39)
02. Jody Miller – Everything I Own (03:02)
03. Jody Miller – Be My Baby (02:36)
04. Jody Miller – Manhattan, Kansas (02:47)
05. Jody Miller – Delta Dawn (02:55)
06. Jody Miller – The Happiest Girl in the U.S.A. (02:31)
07. Jody Miller – Someone To Give My Love To (03:00)
08. Jody Miller – To Know Him is to Love Him (02:45)
09. Jody Miller – Your Love’s Been a Long Time Coming (02:21)
10. Jody Miller – Love’s the Answer (02:40)
11. Jody Miller – Let’s All Go Down to the River (02:29)


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: