Skip to content

Jimmy Cobb – Jazz In The Key Of Blue (2009) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Jimmy Cobb – Jazz In The Key Of Blue (2009)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 55:27 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital Booklet | © Chesky Records

A superb, mostly self-taught musician, Jimmy Cobb is the elder statesman of all the incredible Miles Davis bands. Cobb’s inspirational work with Miles, John Coltrane, Cannonball Adderly and Co. spanned 1957 until 1963 and included the masterpiece Kind of Blue, the most popular jazz recording in history. On this new Chesky Records recording, Jazz In the Key of Blue, Jimmy Cobb pairs up once again with 36-year old, Grammy Award winning trumpeter, Roy Hargrove. who has firmly established him-self as among the premier players in jazz and beyond. Jazz In the Key of Blue continues to prove Jimmy Cobb’s mettle as a band leader, his imperturbable, rock-steady swing, paving the way for the rhythms and sounds of yet another generation of jazzmen.

The 50th anniversary celebrations for Miles Davis’s Kind of Blue in 2009 reminded the world that drummer Jimmy Cobb is the last surviving participant from that groundbreaking session. This set is a romantic-standards programme fronted by trumpeter and flugelhornist Roy Hargrove and guitarist Russell Malone, with only the swish of Cobb’s understated brushwork testifying to his presence for long stretches. In an era in which such familiar jazz materials are frequently subverted, rhythmically reinvented or morphed into hybrids with other songs, it would be easy to write off this straightahead session as craftsmanlike but out of its time – except that something, perhaps respect for Cobb’s pedigree, stirs a dazzling inventiveness from the more familiarly funk-and-R&B-inclined Hargrove, and from Malone who sounds like the best of guitarists – Charlie Christian, Jim Hall and himself – combined. Hargrove’s breathy flugel immediately establishes his captivating poise on Everytime We Say Goodbye over Malone’s cushioning chords, and his eruption into a fiercer attack after the delicate opening of With You I’m Born Again is a delicious shock. The trumpeter’s New Orleans roots come out over Malone’s bent notes and Charlie Christian swing on I Had the Craziest Dream. It shows just how much younger players cherish the standards book, and how unobtrusively a veteran such as Cobb can help them.

01 – Every Time We Say Goodbye
02 – With You I’m Born Again
03 – I’ll Still Be In Love With You
04 – Emily
05 – Stairway To The Stars
06 – I Had the Craziest Dream
07 – Remembering U
08 – What Will I Do
09 – If Ever I Would Leave You
10 – We’ll Be Together Again

Produced by David Chesky and Eleana Steinberg Tee.
Recorded October 14th, 2008 at St. Peter’s Episcopal Church, New York City.
Recorded, Edited, and Mastered by Nicholas Prout

Jimmy Cobb – Drums
Roy Hargrove – Trumpet/Flugelhorn
Russell Malone – Guitar
John Webber – Bass



%d bloggers like this: