Skip to content

Jim Robitaille Trio – Space Cycles (2020) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Jim Robitaille Trio – Space Cycles (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 53:07 minutes | 581 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Whaling City Sound

After a brief interlude in a group format, Jim Robitaille is back inside the sparse and generous spaces of his trio. Flanked by Bill Miele on bass and Chris Poudrier on drums, Robitaille sounds as if he returned home after being away for a while. The colors throughout these arrangements pulse and glow, embracing a spectrum of musical emotion, while Robitailles guitar tone also explores the range of what is possible within the framework, he’s set for himself. Miele and Poudrier buttress Robitailles work with sturdy, confident rhythm and gentle explorations of their own. From the moody opener, Natural Selection, the delicate and profound melancholy of When We Passed, all the way through to the closing, quietly epic ensemble jam Chance Meeting, the recording session is dazzling, understated, beautiful, at times even sublime. Theres an unwritten story here on Space Cycles, lurking somewhere in the satisfying jams like warm toes under a blanket. Wed ask a few questions about those stories, find out where they come from, and what the reasoning behind it all is, but the sounds are all we need and wed rather just enjoy the warmth anyway.


1. Jim Robitaille Trio – Natural Selection
2. Jim Robitaille Trio – Transitions
3. Jim Robitaille Trio – When We Passed
4. Jim Robitaille Trio – Space Cycles
5. Jim Robitaille Trio – Baubles, Bangles and Beads
6. Jim Robitaille Trio – February 12th
7. Jim Robitaille Trio – Nocturne
8. Jim Robitaille Trio – Never Never Land
9. Jim Robitaille Trio – Here, There and Everywhere
10. Jim Robitaille Trio – Chance Meeting


%d bloggers like this: