Skip to content

Jethro Tull – Thick As A Brick (1972/2015) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Jethro Tull – Thick As A Brick (1972/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 43:43 minutes | 897 MB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Chrysalis Records
Recorded: December 1971 at Morgan Studios, London.  Mixed & Mastered by Steven Wilson

Jethro Tull’s classic 1972 concept album, newly remixed and remastered by Steven Wilson.

While never as high-minded or technically facile as the likes of Yes or ELP, Tull began incorporating complex time changes, sophisticated harmonic structures and highly developed lyrical themes on „Thick As A Brick“, the realization of the artistic growth begun on „Aqualung“. It’s here that Tull finally bursts into full-blown prog-rock mode. While „Aqualung“ was a group of discrete compositions united by a theme, „Thick As A Brick“ consists of one extended piece that occupies the length of the album.

Lyrically, Anderson’s intentions are a bit more obscure here, but the sophisticated arrangements and virtuosic performances are enough to carry the show. John Evan’s piano and organ are at the heart of this complex piece, which moves through an endless succession of tempos, moods and modes in a manner similar to vintage Genesis or the aforementioned Yes, but with a grittier edge. Most importantly, the whole things flows in a cohesive manner. „Thick As A Brick“ demands close attention, but rewards the same handsomely.
‘…their music spins a delicate web of sensitive sounds: sometimes lilting, sometimes soaring to form a brilliant backdrop for the meaningful lyrics and improvisational techniques…’ –Rolling Stone

1. Really Don’t Mind/See There a Son Is Born 04:60
2. The Poet and the Painter 05:30
3. What Do You Do When the Old Man’s Gone?/From the Upper Class 05:25
4. You Curl Your Toes in Fun/Childhood Heroes/Stabs… 06:49
5. See There a Man Is Born/Clear White Circles 05:59
6. Legends and Believe in the Day 06:35
7. Tales of Your Life 05:24
8. Childhood Heroes Reprise 03:01

Ian Anderson – Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Flute, Violin, Trumpet, Saxophone
Martin Barre – Electric Guitar, Lute
John Evan – Piano, Organ, Harpsichord
Jeffrey Hammond – Bass Guitar, Vocals
Barriemore Barlow – Drums, Percussion, Timpani
David Palmer – Brass and String arrangements


%d bloggers like this: