Skip to content

Jerry Garcia Band – Garcia Live: Volume One, Capitol Theatre – 01.03.1980 (2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Jerry Garcia Band: Garcia Live – Volume One, Capitol Theatre – 01.03.1980 (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 157:27 minutes | 1,76 GB | Genre:Rock, Folk Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital booklet

Guitarist, singer, and songwriter Jerry Garcia was best known as a founding member of the Grateful Dead, the rock band for which he served as de facto leader for 30 years, 1965-1995. Concurrently for much of that time, he also led his own Jerry Garcia Band (JGB), and he performed and recorded in a variety of configurations and a variety of styles, particularly styles of folk and country music, sometimes switching to banjo or pedal steel guitar for the purpose…

The first release from the newly-launched Garcia Live series features a recording from the historic Capitol Theatre in Passaic, New Jersey on March 1, 1980. The band performed an early and a late show on this evening, as was common at the time. The shows were originally multi-tracked on a 24-track mobile rig for WNEW’s broadcast of the early show.
The band, which included Garcia on guitar and vocals, partner in crime John Kahn on bass, Ozzie Ahlers on Keys and Johnny de Foncesca on drums at the time, was wrapping up a three-week East Coast run with the performances on this evening. Highlights including a take on the Jimmie Rodgers penned rave-up, “That’s All Right,” an early show encore of “Deal” and a rollicking version of “That’s What Love Will Make You Do” show Jerry and the band loose and fluid at the end of the tour.


Disc 1 – Early Show:
01 – Sugaree
02 – Catfish John
03 – How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
04 – Simple Twist of Fate
05 – Sitting In Limbo
06 – That’s All Right
07 – Deal

Disc 2 – Late Show:
01 – Mission In The Rain
02 – That’s What Love Will Make You Do
03 – Russian Lullaby
04 – The Harder They Come
05 – Tiger Rose (featuring Robert Hunter)
06 – Promontory Rider (featuring Robert Hunter)
07 – Midnight Moonlight
08 – Dear Prudence



%d bloggers like this: