Skip to content

Jean Michel Jarre – Amazonia (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Jean Michel Jarre – Amazonia (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 52:44 minutes | 629 MB | Genre: Electronic
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Columbia Local

Jean-Michel Jarre has composed and recorded a 52 minute musical score for ‘Amazônia’, a new project by award winning photographer and filmmaker Sebastião Salgado, for the Philharmonic Paris. The exhibition launches on April 7th and will later travel to South America, Roma and London…

‘Amazônia’ is an immersive exhibition focussing on the Brazilian Amazon, featuring more than 200 photographs and other media by Salgado. He travelled the region for six years, capturing the forest, the rivers, the mountains and the people who live there, and most of the work will be seen publicly for the first time. At the heart of the exhibit is an invitation to see, hear and think about the future of biodiversity and the place of humans in the living world.

JMJs accompanying sound-creation is a symphonic world which will engulf visitors to the exhibit in the sounds of the forest. Using a blend of electronic and orchestral instruments with other real-life natural sounds, the score has also been recorded in binaural audio, for a truly immersive experience.

Forty-five years after Oxygène, Jean-Michel Jarre returns to the border between the artistic and the ecological with this new album dedicated to the lungs of the Earth, the Amazon. This is the soundtrack composed for the Amazônia exhibition by Brazilian photographer Sebastião Salgado, which will open in May 2021 at the Philharmonie de Paris. Salgado presents more than 200 photos and videos from his six years in the region, focusing on the relationship between humans and biodiversity. The exhibition was an impressive piece of work that presented a challenge for Jarre to set to music. “It was a question of not falling into a purely scientific or ethnomusicological approach, nor into simple background music”, he explains. “I therefore set up a sort of toolbox, containing musical elements, whether orchestral or electronic, intended to recreate or evoke the timbre of natural sounds, to which were added sounds from the environment and finally human sources (voices, songs, instruments) from the archives of the Musée d’Ethnographie de Genève.”

Clearly inspired by his subject, Jarre has released one of his best records, in terms of coherence, concept and ideas. Thanks to the binaural recording technique, which allows for ultra-precise reproduction of sound in space, he offers long pieces of eight or nine minutes that push at the limits of trance sounds, such as the opening Amazônia, Pt. 1, all strings and percussion, with stormy synths in the background, encompassed by forest noises. On Amazônia, Pt. 2, a distant techno beat guides us through a stifling forest, while Pt. 3 takes an intoxicating ethno-trance twist on the ending. Jarre often leans towards musique concrète on this record but he also throws out some tasty loops that mix techno and ambient. An album worth digging deeper into. – Smaël Bouaici


01. Amazônia, Pt. 1
02. Amazônia, Pt. 2
03. Amazônia, Pt. 3
04. Amazônia, Pt. 4
05. Amazônia, Pt. 5
06. Amazônia, Pt. 6
07. Amazônia, Pt. 7
08. Amazônia, Pt. 8
09. Amazônia, Pt. 9


%d bloggers like this: