Skip to content

Jason Moran – The Sound Will Tell You (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Jason Moran – The Sound Will Tell You (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:05:13 minutes | 384 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © SKANI

The Sound Will Tell You, Moran’s 3rd Solo piano recording, was made on January 4-6, 2021. Half of the works use an effect dubbed “DRIP”, a filter to allow the sound cast a shadow. The Drip gives the note another gravity. These pieces are marked by “tear”, “honey” and “shadow. Moran, from Houston, also recalls DJ Screw’s ability to give a song a new sluggish gait. Drawing out the drawl and sinking the beat into the mud. The music moves in slower motion.

Many of the titles refer to Toni Morrison, the author Moran read most frequently during quarantine. She evokes sound often and speaks of the pitch black night as “it may as well be a rainbow.” – Song of Solomon.

The Sound Will Tell You is being concurrently released with an exhibition of new works on paper at the Luhring Augustine Gallery in Tribeca, New York. Moran’s practice of recording his hand motions on the piano manual creates a variation on the “recording”. The attack of the finger on the key leaves a mark and accumulates residue.


1. Jason Moran – Follow the Light
2. Jason Moran – Spoken in Two (Tear)
3. Jason Moran – For Love
4. Jason Moran – My Mother’s Handful of Tea
5. Jason Moran – Only the Shadow Knows (Honey)
6. Jason Moran – Body & Soul with Intimate Friends (Shadow)
7. Jason Moran – Dawns after the Dream
8. Jason Moran – Bee Mantra (Honey)
9. Jason Moran – How much more terrible was the Night
10. Jason Moran – The only morning coming (Tear)
11. Jason Moran – Hum then Sing then Speak
12. Jason Moran – Toni Morrison said Black is a Rainbow (Shadow)


%d bloggers like this: