Skip to content

Jason Moran – All Rise: A Joyful Elegy For Fats Waller (2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Jason Moran – All Rise: A Joyful Elegy For Fats Waller (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 00:43:59 minutes | 920 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Blue Note Records
Recorded: Brooklyn Recording, Brooklyn, NY.

All Rise: A Joyful Elegy for Fats Waller is a collaboration with the vocalist Meshell Ndegeocello that recasts the music of the legendary jazz entertainer Fats Waller as a modern dance party. The album is the studio culmination of a project that was born onstage at Harlem Stage Gatehouse as the Fats Waller Dance Party in 2011 as part of their “Harlem Jazz Shrines” series.

“Fats Waller is a special kind of provocateur,” says Moran. “It stems mainly from the fact that he was a singer as well as a pianist. Sometimes he was like an MC. It has always amazed me that a pianist whose playing was so deep could sing and keep a running commentary of what was going on around him all at the same time.”

1 Put Your Hands On It 0:20
2 Ain’t Misbehavin’ 3:42
3 Yacht Club Swing 4:03
4 Lulu’s Back In Town 2:38
5 Two Sleepy People 4:07
6 The Joint Is Jumpin’ 5:10
7 Honeysuckle Rose 3:48
8 Ain’t Nobody’s Business 4:21
9 Fat’s Elegy 1:46
10 Handful Of Keys 2:55
11 Jitterbug Waltz 6:13
12 Sheik Of Araby / I Found A New Baby (Medley) 5:00

Jason Moran, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Wurlitzer organ
Meshell Ndegeocello, vocals
Leron Thomas, vocals, trumpet
Charles Haynes, vocals, drums
Lisa Harris, vocals
Stephen Lehman, saxophone
Josh Roseman, trombone
Nasheet Waits, drums


%d bloggers like this: