Skip to content

James Brandon Lewis Quartet – Code of Being (2021) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

James Brandon Lewis Quartet – Code of Being (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:07:21 minutes | 2,18 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Intakt Records

The charismatic saxophonist and composer James Brandon Lewis is the musician of the moment in the broad field of contemporary jazz. With Code of Being, James Brandon Lewis now presents his second album. The debut CD Molecular, which Lewis recorded with his quartet in 2020 just a few months before Lockdown, was roundly acclaimed as one of the most exciting releases in 2020 (Intakt CD 350). Code of Being is a powerful work consisting of eight compositions by James Brandon Lewis. Beautiful melodies are responsible for the magic of the songs. The four exceptional musicians, each with personalities of their own, create an urgent ensem ble sound, moving through a broad palette of sound-colours, rhythms and moods, charged with energy. With a profound sense for lyrical melodies, tonal concision and dynamics, the quartet develop a spirited interplay, reacting to the tiniest atmospheric oscillations on the sound and groove level. “This is captivating music which it is hard to resist, especially the melodies with their thematic beauty.,” writes Florian Keller in the liner notes.

01. Resonance
02. Archimedean
03. Every Atom Glows
04. Per 4
05. Code of Being
06. Where is Hella
07. Per 5
08. Tessera


Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: