Skip to content

Jah Wobble & Bill Laswell – Realm Of Spells (2019) [Official Digital Download 24bit/48kHz]

Jah Wobble & Bill Laswell – Realm Of Spells (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 55:26 minutes | 342 MB | Genre: Jazz, Fusion
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Jah Wobble Record

Spirals , the slow reveal, cyclical but eventually coming to a point . ‘Realm of Spells ‘ is for me the point . Maybe the last time I will get to work with Bill. For me personally, this record embodies and contains a lot of the basic approach I had right from the beginning , especially in regard to playing the bass. The circumstances of our trip led to me using a Fender P bass for the first time in years. All the early PiL stuff plus Full circle with Holger and Jaki was played on Fender P. I was taken back to that beautiful naive beginning . At that juncture some pristine mathematical truth shot like a ray of vajra light from deep space.

Bill’s one of those rare individuals who sets the scene with his presence alone . That presence carries a lot of power. As well as welter of musical wisdom and experience . Me and the Invaders, (George, Marc and Chungy ) are blazing like a comet at this present time . G, M and C , prove themselves top drawer players on these recordings . Bill understands that band intensity . (How could he not having worked with The master , Miles Davis). He can focus on the fine detail that exists within the Musical Maelstrom . And suitably highlights that baroque detail in his characteristically, unfussy yet stylistic way. Bill’s productions stand out like a beacon, compared to most. Clean cut lines of design , but never anodyne and removed from the passions.

As well as The Invaders of the Heart , RoS features Hideo Yamaki and Peter Apfelbaum . Two musicians I’d long wanted to play with. They augment this record perfectly. They both have a unique voice.

RoS is on the anti clockwise spiral . That’s the esoteric one.

1. Fanfare for Phenomena (06:15)
2. Uncoiling (07:06)
3. The Perfect Beat (04:50)
4. Off World Departure (09:15)
5. Dark Luminosity (04:19)
6. Code of Echo’s (09:02)
7. At the point of Hustle (04:44)
8. Realm of Spells (09:55)


%d bloggers like this: